In the Waiting . . .

I took the youth group to a True Love Waits rally last night. The rally itself was good. The speaker was hilarious, although I felt some of the humor flew over the teen’s heads. Still, he was very straightforward and someone that could speak from experience about waiting, which always helps. I realized that in our microwave/fast food/instant gratification world, that these kids do not even partially understand the concept of waiting. They don’t understand it because they don’t have to wait for anything. If they need it, they get it. If they can’t find it in the store, they can find it online. If it’s out of stock or no longer manufactured, check ebay.

Now, I realize that being only 10 to 15 years ahead of most of these kids, I can’t really say my generation is that much better. Still, and perhaps it comes more with age than anything, waiting for something that you really want to have can be extremely rewarding. Do you remember the Twix commercial? “The Best Things Come to Those Who Wait” was the tagline. It was cheesy, but so very true.

Thinking about the subject of waiting brought me to the subject of restraint. It wasn’t very long ago that I didn’t completely understand the concept I’m about to share, but I have come to a new place of understanding concerning restraint. I believe that (and I truly believe this) the greatest passion comes from the greatest restraint. Case and point: Jane Eyre. Anyone who has seen the Cirian Hinds/Samantha Morton version of this movie can attest to the fact that their relationship is portrayed as one of the most passionate romances ever seen on television. I believe the reason they share so much passion is because they have a relationship that is, for lack of a better word, proper. Mr. Rochester and Jane had to wait. They had to restrain themselves. He was a gentleman and she was his employee. It would have been improper for them to “put the cart before the horse,” so to speak. Yet because of that restraint, they had a passion that I have not seen portrayed in more modern stories.

So, waiting? Keep waiting. I know it is hard, believe me, I know. I know it is frustrating. I know it is lonely. However, I also know that the reward is greater. How do I know? Faith. I believe the reward is greater, because my heavenly Father promised me that He was able to do “exceedingly, abundantly, above all that I could ever ask, think, or even dare to imagine.” I believe the reward is greater because my Father promised me that if I would delight myself in Him, He would give me the desires of my heart. I believe the reward is greater because my Father promised me that “they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength . . . . They shall run and not be weary. They shall walk and not faint.” So wait upon the promise! Whatever it is, I promise, as does my heavenly Father, that it is worth the wait!

3 thoughts on “In the Waiting . . .

  1. Jana Swartwood says:

    You are so right about that version of Jane Eyre. I think you could say something similar about most Victorian novels (and the movies that actually do them justice). There is restraint. There is propriety. You see in the characters such a deep passion held in check just below the surface, and because it is held in check (and not allowed to fulfill itself instantaneously), it builds into something infinitely stronger and more beautiful than it would have been otherwise.

  2. stan says:

    Over the years, I’ve sometimes come to a place that says, “Why wait? And why seek someone who’s also waited? She’s practically impossible to find.” Because in today’s American society, that’s true—it is next to impossible to find someone who’s waiting. When I have been in that place, feeling anxious to “graduate” from the single life, and ready to compromise my personal standard by looking for someone who hasn’t waited (and didn’t feel the need to), I tell myself this:

    The desperate have no standards.

    Am I desperate to get married? Is having physical intimacy with someone such an important goal in my life that it causes me to lower the bar? In a word: no. After all, I have made a concentrated effort to keep my purity intact all these years; why shouldn’t I be rewarded with a mate who has done the same? I would rather remain single and lonely for the rest of my days here than to disobey the Lord’s will in regards to my purity.

  3. Coley says:

    Stan, I think you just made an amazing point. Your statement “The desperate have no standards” is one of the most comforting things I’ve ever heard. So often I encounter people who criticize me for being so “picky” when it comes to the men I date, but next time I’ll just quote you when that happens.I think the thing that astonishes me more than anything is that many people who call themselves Christians do not see the need to wait until marriage. I expect that attitude from the world, but I do not expect it nor admire it in my brothers and sisters in Christ, especially when we know that over and over again the Lord commands purity from His followers. Of course, I’ve always believed the words of the song, “I have decided to follow Jesus.” I experience such a swell of emotion when I sing, “Though none go with me, still I will follow; no turning back, no turning back.” I think my entire life is summed up in that one statement. I’ve never known anything but this life, and I’ve never desired a life apart from Christ, and honestly, “I wouldn’t take nothin’ for my journey now.”

Leave a Reply

