The Insignificance of a Person . . .

I realize that when I created this blog, my intent was to discuss literature, and I have discussed a little, and I hope to discuss more. However, for lack of a better place to vent (my two closest friends live in Tulsa and I don’t so it’s harder to vent to them in the middle of the work day), I have decided to vent my frustrations here. After all, isn’t that what most people do in a blog?

Today’s frustration was born out of a situation at work that I don’t care to discuss, but it caused me to consider the significance of a single person. I’ve always chosen to believe, because of my rich upbringing in the church world, that my significance was found not in what the world teaches, but in what my Savior teaches. I still believe that to be true. However, I find that people can make you feel insignificant, no matter what you may know of the truth. I know the truth. I know that I am important in the eyes of God. I know that He values me as a shepherd values the one lost sheep. I know that He sees me as a priceless treasure. I know this! I’ve read the Bible. I’ve heard the teachings. I’ve even taught a few of them myself.

So, why is it that a single action from a person who professes to not even really like the God I serve can cause me to feel so terribly small and unimportant in a place that is overflowing with people who don’t understand what it is to “love your neighbor as you love yourself” and to “do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”? Why do I let those small instances affect me so much? Why do I allow those things to penetrate my heart and soul? Why do I let the actions of man rule over the truth of my Savior? I suppose it is because I am human. I suppose it is because my flesh screams louder than the Spirit of truth, who would never scream, being the Gentleman He is. I suppose because my flesh is selfish and constantly warring against that part of me that is fighting to set my dependence entirely upon Christ. So, what does one do? How do we overcome these moments of insignificance and unimportance? Simple. We turn to the One who created us. We turn to the One who not only understands our despair, but chose to experience it Himself by taking human form. We turn to the One who chases after us until we are found by Him.

I visited a site by a friend that served as a sort of balm against the hurt of this day. It reminded me that there is no one that can fill me like God can. I hope you all take the time to read her thoughts. I have linked to her site
here. I hope you take the time to let this line of thinking permeate your inner being and cause you to be lifted up from the ruins of insignificance. And by doing so, perhaps you will remember the truth. You are important to God. You do matter in His kingdom. You are significant in His eyes. And to make certain that you understand, He had the foresight to put within you a void that only He can fill, so that you might learn to put all your hopes, all your trust, and all your faith in Him.

5 thoughts on “The Insignificance of a Person . . .

  1. Coley says:

    So, I’m in my car at lunch listening to the Christian radio station that I never listen to because they talk too much, but they’re actually playing music when I turn there so I stop, and you’ll never guess what song comes on . . . “Pray for Me” by Michael W. Smith, which always reminds me of our youth group for some reason, and it just reminded me of all the fun we used to have! Isn’t that cool?

  2. Sarah says:

    Nicole, I got your comment on my blog and now I’m reading yours! This is fun!I’m glad that God used me, so that I could be there for you! We all need to be reminded to focus on the Lord and not on the people or circumstances we live in.And this is exciting to be able to reconnect! =)Love,Sarah

  3. Jana Swartwood says:

    In situations like that (and I’ve had several working in the world of academia), I find I have to remember one thing. Anyone who is making the effort to put me down, to make me feel insignificant, is probably doing so because he/she actually feels insecure and wants to artificially create a sense of personal significance at my expense. Isn’t that what our parents always told us back in the playground days? It’s not always the most comforting to hear, especially when all you want to do is (a) be angry or (b) go cry in a corner, but I think it’s usually true. And if I realize that, then I have a better chance of attaining that greater perspective that you discuss in the rest of your blog–and it makes me feel just a little bit sorry for the offender as well. Maybe even makes me want to pray for him/her, even if I’m still upset. And as irritating as that can be (hmm, reminds me of Jonah, which in turn reminds me of “Patience”), it’s so much better to give it over to God than to let it fester within you. I’m so sorry you had such a rough day.

Leave a Reply

