Closed Captioned . . . .

I’ve been thinking a lot about the hearing impaired. Recently, out of necessity, I have been taking a sort of “crash course” in sign language. It started when I moved to Carthage. Through a course of events our church lost two of its three interpreters in about a three month span. We have one member that is hearing impaired, and therefore the church had several women who would sign the music and sermons for him. Anyway, once the second woman left, I volunteered to learn sign language so that I could assist. The good thing is that I have always had a desire to learn sign. (We can thank Kathy Depew and Midwest Bible Institute for that.) Anyway, after I had been signing for a couple of weeks, my mother brought up an interesting thought that I pondered for awhile. (I daresay many of you have heard me say that my mother may not read Shakespeare or Dickens, but when it comes to the spiritual side of life she can be really profound.) She made a statement that went something like, “You know, when you have a desire to do something, sometimes you never know what the Lord’s purpose for that desire in your life. Isn’t it funny that you’ve always wanted to learn sign language? And here you are in a place where there is a need for you to learn it.” (Sidenote: this is actually not where I was planning to go with this post, but you all know how thoughts start to progress in your mind and just go places without your consent.)

From that statement of my mother’s, I started on an entirely different line of thinking. I started thinking of the passage in Psalm 37:4, where David writes, “Delight yourself also in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” I have always interpreted that scripture as, “If you will delight yourself in the Lord, then He will give you the desires that He wants you to have and that He is already leading you towards.” It has always given me a little bit of comfort to know that if I delight myself in Him that He will make me hunger after the things He has planned for my life. Did you read that last statement? I just did, and even as I was writing it, it didn’t hit me as profoundly as it did when I went back and reread it. God will make me hunger after the plans He has for me. Wow! How awesome is it to know that the God who created the universe, the God who orders the moon and the sun to stay in their respective places, the God who sees every sparrow fall, is the same God that takes the time to place within me a desire for His perfect plan. And all I have to do for Him is to delight in Him. It puts me into mind of another scripture in Jeremiah 29:11. “For I know the plans I have for you. Plans of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” And since God knows the plans He has for us, that means that He also knows exactly what desires to place within us. So, sometimes when I get to wondering if I’ll ever see those dreams I have fulfilled, maybe I’ll be able to remember this lesson I learned. I trust that when I’m in the darkness of doubt, I won’t forget what I learned in the light of hope.

Oh, and in case you’re curious where I was originally going with this post, I guess you’ll just have to stay tuned and hope I cover it next time!

One thought on “Closed Captioned . . . .

Leave a Reply

