What Do You Drink?

I don’t know what made me think of this topic, except that I heard myself (being born in Arkansas and raised partly in Texas) say “pop” in regards to that fizzy beverage I often drink. This is something I never thought I would do. It isn’t that I think “pop” is a bad word or anything ridiculous like that. It is just that where I was raised every carbonated beverage is called coke, whether it is Coke, Dr. Pepper, or Mt. Dew. So, when I heard myself say “pop,” I started thinking about how many years I revolted to the sound of that word, because I was from the South and that was a Midwestern word.

Anyway, so the question for the day is “What do you drink?”

11 thoughts on “What Do You Drink?

  1. Robyn says:

    Ah, we too were ‘coke’ drinkers until Owen started talking. His sitter is from Illinois, and she says ‘pop’ so that’s all he’s ever called it. Now the entire family has reverted to calling it pop. He also calls raisins ‘rickies’ – but we’re not giving in to that one.

  2. Jana Swartwood says:

    I never knew there was another term for it until I moved south. “Pop” was the only word in my soft-drink vocabulary. We only used the word “Coke” in reference to actual Coca Cola. When I went off to college, I suddenly became friends with people who used the words “soda” or “Coke.” Every once in a while now, I say “soda” just because I have been linguistically influenced by them. But I cannot and will not call pop a “Coke” unless it is Coke.

  3. Coley says:

    I hear you Robyn. My 2-year-old nephew says “maggots” instead of magnets, and he will argue with you that they are “Not magnets, they are maggots.” Oh well, kids, right? I just can’t bring myself to call them that, even though it is cute that he does.And Jana, why you’re the reason I started into this whole line of thinking. I started saying “soda” after I became friends with you.

  4. Becky Davis says:

    I grew up saying “soda” for all carbonated beverages. I imagine that I am the guilty party for influencing both Jana (directly) and Nicole (indirectly). Before coming to Oklahoma, I thought “pop” was an old ’50’s style way of referring to the carbonated beverages.As for “coke,” I have to agree with Jana as to it only refers to the bevagage produced by the company Coca-Cola. I do not believe the term to be like kleenix, which by the way is synonymous with tissues.

  5. Coley says:

    Now Becky, I had no idea that it was your fault I sometimes say soda. I knew you weren’t a true southerner.Anyway, I do think of “coke” as synonymous with all types of “soda.” I also think of kleenex as synonymous with facial tissue (even though there are many other brands of tissue).

  6. Jana Swartwood says:

    Well, Becky is from the Illinois side of St. Louis, after all…. Yeah, I blame Becky and my friend Christie for the occasional lapses to “soda.” My college roommate Heidi was the first person I ever heard call a Dr. Pepper a “Coke.” To this day, I maintain: Dr. Pepper is not Coke!!!

  7. Jami says:

    I’m surprised Amy hasn’t joined in on this one yet. This has been the topic of many a conversation for us since we graduated high school. My Grandmother always used the word “pop” While the rest of us were “coke” drinkers. I’ve tried to alter my vocab and say “soda”. Alas my kids still call every carbonated beverate “coke” so apparently I often revert back to my old ways or they wouldn’t be calling there bubbly beverage that.Hey Nicole next time your in the area why don’t we go out and get a coke? I miss you.

  8. stan says:

    I grew up calling it pop, but there just came a point where it just sounded too kid-like. So I switched to calling it soda or by its brand name. (Although as of next Tuesday, I will have gone a full year without drinking any soda at all.)I have heard about Southerners calling all soda coke regardless of brand, and thought that was kind of funny. With words like kleenex, jello, walkman, etc., I think we say them because the brand names they are derived from have historically had virtually no competition. Is that how it is in the Coca-Cola South?

  9. Coley says:

    The no competition idea makes perfect sense. And I suppose that is the case in the south. When I was a little girl in Arkansas, Pepsi products were almost impossible to find. We drank Coke because that is what everyone drank. I don’t ever remember going over to a friend’s house and seeing Pepsi products, and all of the “pop” machines were Coke.

  10. Amy says:

    Jami, I didn’t comment sooner because I forgot to subscribe to Nicoles Less Serious blog. Ooops. Pop! Nicole you called it pop? How could you? 😉 I try to call it ‘soda’ now… but deep, deep down… it will always be a coke. Oh and by the way Coca-Cola is not just one beverage, it’s a beverage company… So officially there are lots of drinks that can be legitimately called a “Coke” [product]. Coca-Cola Vending Machine.

Leave a Reply

