Petrichor

I receive the “Word of the Day” from Yourdictionary.com, and on April 13th, the word was ‘petrichor’. I didn’t know it until April 13th, but I’ve been searching for this word for years. The definition is “A pleasant distinctive smell of rain falling on dry ground. The original reference is to an odor produced in certain regions by yellowish, oily globules, rather like perfume, absorbed into the ground from the air.” I love the smell of the rain. I always have. It takes me back to times in my life when I was truly content. It transports me to the campground, a place that holds some of my favorite memories. It soothes my aching spirit and makes me feel a bit more peaceful. I often wonder if rain smells the same everywhere. I know that it smells different here than it does in Texas. In fact, I’ve never smelled the scent I find along the miles between Tulsa, OK, and Carthage, MO. No place that I’ve lived or traveled smells like this when the rain falls. It is an amazing smell to me. It is sweet, with a touch of newness, peaceful; and on a day like today that didn’t begin and so far hasn’t been very peaceful, it was nice to savor the scent of the fresh, life-giving rain. What is it about rain that moves us? Why is it that we can water and water our earth, yet nothing brings out the vibrance of color like a fresh rainshower? How does it happen that when it rains, I suddenly revert back to memories that capture my senses and fill me with refreshing peace? I offer only one answer to the above questions . . . my Creator. Often, when the rain falls, I hear the words of an old song echo in my head and suddenly, I understand exactly what it is about rain that touches my soul.

Jesus, Jesus, Jesus
There’s just something about that Name.
Master, Savior, Jesus
Like the fragrance after the rain.
Jesus, Jesus, Jesus
Let all heaven and earth proclaim
Kings and kingdoms will all pass away;
But there’s something about that Name.

There is something about that Name. I can’t explain or even quite understand it, but the mere mention of that Name on my lips and instantly there is peace in my spirit. I pray that you all remember that. I pray that somehow, in the midst of whatever you might face today or tomorrow or beyond, that you let that Name be the one you call when you need peace. I can guarantee that just the mention of it will bring comfort and peace to your spirit. And I can promise you that you won’t regret it.

2 thoughts on “Petrichor

  1. Sarah says:

    There’s also that wonderful smell before the rain. “It smells like rain.” I think that smell can be sweeter because it has the anticipation factor, too!

  2. Amy says:

    This is the most awesome word. Just thinking about the smell of rain trasports me to a specific bunk by a screen window at camp.I’ve meant to comment on this post since the day you wrote it. I’m finally getting the chance.

Leave a Reply

