Hakuna Matata!

Do animals know when it is morning? I mean, I’m certain they know the difference between night and day, and that there is order to it, but do they know when it is morning? Do they understand that a new day is beginning and a fresh start is ahead? I would have told you a short time ago that I don’t think animals know much of anything. However, this morning, as I watched my neighbor’s horses running and playing, I started to feel a little differently. I’ve seen those horses in the afternoon. They don’t play. They really don’t even move too much. By afternoon, they are usually just standing around eating grass and staring at the passing cars. Because of that, I had to ask the question. Do animals know when it is morning?

I’m personally not a morning person (every one of you should know this), but I’ve always wanted to be one. I’ve always had a desire to be one of those people that wakes up and is ready to face the day with new excitement and fresh hope. I’m not. I’m not even a little bit of a morning person. I go to bed dreading the morning most of the time. I much prefer the thought of my warm bed and my soft pillow to the idea of getting up and facing another day at my “job that is okay, but not something I love.” I often wake to the thought that if I can just get a cup of coffee (Amy Jo, you know all about this . . . ) then I’ll feel more alive and alert and can really enjoy my day. There is absolutely only one period of time in my life when I ever get excited to wake up, and that is the two week period of time that I spend at camp. Those days are totally worth my morning excitement! Those days are filled with hope and promise! Why can’t all days be like that? Why can’t I, like my neighbor’s horses, wake up thinking “A new day! It’s a new day! Let’s see how much fun we can have!”? Maybe it is my attitude. Perhaps I’ve convinced myself that “morning bad, night good.” It could be that I just hate mornings because that is basically what my generation has taught me. We “Gen Xers” (Jana, are we X or Y?) are trained to believe that ‘sleeping in’ is the life.

So, what do I do? How do I change my mindset? How do I look at the morning like those horses? What do they have that I don’t? Oh, I remember now . . . they have the “Hakuna Matata” mindset. They aren’t worried. They don’t feel the pressure of a new day. They don’t understand about jobs and tasks and deadlines and responsibilities. That’s the difference . . . hmmmm . . . isn’t there a passage of scripture that I could insert here?

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 4:6-7 (emphasis mine)

And there you have it. “Be anxious for nothing.” That about sums it up! (Now, if I can just apply it to my own life . . . .)

Hakuna Matata, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Hakuna Matata!

  1. Sarah says:

    You can change. I used to be a morning person, but then came kids!! But I guess deep down I’m still a morning person since I want to get back to waking up early and getting so much done!

  2. Coley says:

    I thought we were still considered(albeit barely) Gen X.And Sarah, my friend, you are the morningest (I know, not a real word, but it fits!) of morning people, so I don’t believe for a second that you aren’t a morning person now. Perhaps you are a little more reluctant to wake up of a morning, but I can imagine that you are still the same smiling, cheery Sarah I know and love when you finally do get up and going!

Leave a Reply

