100% Dixie!

I lived in South Arkansas, just 15 miles north of the Louisiana border, for 11 years before God graciously led our family into the Promised Land of the Texas Panhandle. Now by South I don’t just mean that this is the Southern portion of the United States. I’m talking about a group of people that are still holding fast to their Confederate roots and think that anyone who lives north of Little Rock is a Yankee. Well, if you ask anyone who knows me, they’ll most likely tell you that I’m from Texas and proud of it. As a matter of fact, there are those who might not even know that I was actually born in Arkansas. I am proud of being a Texan, no doubt about it. However, lately I’ve found myself reaching back further in my life’s history to that place and time when I was a true Southerner. (I still consider myself to be a true Southerner, mind you, and I’ll tell you why in a moment.)

The fact that I’m a Southerner has surfaced a lot lately. Very often at my job, I find myself talking to people who are also from the South, such as Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia. On the other side of that coin, I also find myself talking to a lot of Northerners, who live in places like New York, Michigan (Jana, maybe you know some of them.), and New Jersey. Well, I’ve noticed that a funny thing has happened since I moved to Missouri. After 10 years in Texas, my Southern accent had begun to lessen. It didn’t take very long for me to lose just a tad of my Southern twang. It was a little sad, but I rested in the fact that I was gaining a loyalty to Texas that would make up for the accent loss.

Fast forward to a move to Tulsa, where I studied a lot of British literature, and the accent lessened even more.

So, what have we now, you ask? Well, after six months in Missouri, roughly twenty miles from the Arkansas border, guess what? The accent is making a comeback! Turns out, proximity to the state of my birth has affected me!

Okay, the title of my post? Yesterday I took a quiz titled “Are You a Yankee or a Rebel?“, and the result is that I am 100% Dixie! That’s right, five years in Oklahoma didn’t ruin me! I’m still a Southern Belle! (I knew it all along, I just needed the proof to back it up!)

So, my fellow blogging friends, if you have time, take the quiz and share the results. I’d really like to know how many true Southerners I can count on out there!

17 thoughts on “100% Dixie!

  1. Jana Swartwood says:

    28% Dixie. I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy (it told me so). As if this were a surprise! I blame any Dixiness on my Southern friends…though seriously, some of the “Greak Lakes region” answers were things I had never heard of in my life.

  2. stan says:

    I was only 38% Dixie, although I did say that phrase about how you “can’t swing a cat around without hitting” something today.

  3. Coley says:

    Jana, not surprising at all to find that you are a Yankee Doodle Dandy. In fact, (and I say this about Stan’s results too) I’m surprised it is so high! Oh, and I will happily take any credit you’d like to give me for “Southernizing” you!Sarah, only 66%? Really? You are from TEXAS! Come on!Oh, and Stan, stick around and I’ll Southernize you yet!!!!

  4. Coley says:

    Southernize: v. to familiarize non-Southerners with the customs and sayings of the Old South, which is the portion of the United States that lies below the Mason Dixon Line and to the east of the Texas-New Mexico Border (Note: this definition of the Old South excludes Florida). This process of Southernization is essential for any Northern resident who engages in regular communication with Southerners. Source: The Official Guide to the Southernization Process by Nicole Davis

  5. Coley says:

    Okay Jana: First of all, when did I ever say that Oklahoma ruined me? I don’t think I said that. Did I say that? Tulsa served to assist in the diminishing of the accent. Second of all, and this is the most important point, OKLAHOMA IS NOT THE SOUTH!!!!!!!! Oklahoma was not a state during the Civil War, therefore it is not part of what is considered the Old South!

  6. stan says:

    The fact that “Southernize” was in quotes tells me that it was not intended to reflect an actual word found in the dictionary.

  7. Jana Swartwood says:

    My goodness. Aren’t we all a little fiesty tonight…. For the record, “That’s right, five years in Oklahoma didn’t ruin me!” is where I got “ruined” from. And I don’t care; any place where the majority of the population uses the word “y’all” is South to me. And Stan, technically, Nicole didn’t put “Southernize” in quotes. She put “Southernizing” in quotes. And sheesh! Anyone still holding onto Confederate roots is nearly 150 years behind the times. Let it go!!!

  8. Coley says:

    Okay, okay, so I did say that “Five years in Oklahoma didn’t ruin me.” I did NOT say that it did! When I lived in Oklahoma, I hardly ever heard anyone say y’all. Furthermore, Tulsa has become such a melting pot of people, what with ORU and TU, that I absolutely do not consider it to be the South! By the way, I did look it up last night, and according to Wikipedia the “Exact definitions of the South vary from source to source. The states shown in dark red are usually included, while all or portions of the striped states may or may not be considered part of the Southern United States.” As a Southerner, I will tell you with certainity that Oklahoma and Missouri are not considered the South to any true Southerner. And kill me with semantics, why don’t you? Seriously, you’re going to let it go that I used the word “Southernizing” because I put it in quotes and then argue the validity of “Southernize”? Okay then, and my mother can confirm this, part of the Southern dialect is the ability and right to modify and/or create new words in order to emphasize the meanings of our statements. And if you really believe in letting it go, then why do you, a Northerner, keep arguing the point with me? What difference would it make to you?

  9. Jana Swartwood says:

    Oh my gosh! I’m not saying Oklahoma ruined you. You said it could have ruined you. So I asked how that hypothetical situation could have been possible, considering the fact that Oklahoma is still in the South. And that’s when you jumped all over everything I said. All I was trying to say initially is that I don’t understand how (again, hypothetically) Oklahoma could have ruined your accent because a lot of people around here talk with Southern accents.That’s all I was saying. Everything else has been blown widely out of proportion. Sheesh.As for my comment about “Southernize” and “Southernizing,” it was merely meant as a snide retort to Stan’s somewhat snide comment on the subject.

Leave a Reply

