I Shall Not Be Moved

Blessed is the man
Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly,
Nor stands in the path of sinners,
Nor sits in the seat of the scornful;
But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
And in His law he meditates day and night.
He shall be like a tree
Planted by the rivers of water,
That brings forth its fruit in its season,
Whose leaf also shall not whither;
And whatever he does shall prosper.

The ungodly are not so,
But are like the chaff which the wind drives away.
Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgement,
Nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous.

For the Lord knows the way of the righteous,
But the way of the ungodly shall perish.

Psalm 1
NKJV

I’ve had that song “I Shall Not Be Moved” in my head since I took this picture a few days ago. For anyone that may not know the lyrics, I’ll share part of the song before I go on:

I shall not be, I shall not be moved.
I shall not be, I shall not be moved.
Just like a tree that’s planted by the water,
I shall not be moved.

The verses say things like “In His love I’m hiding, I shall not be moved,” and “I will trust Him ever, I shall not be moved.”

The body of water in the picture is actually not a river, it is a pond, but every day when I see this tree by this pond from my parking space at work, I hear that song playing in my head. It’s strange, because I’ve been at my job for over six months, but it wasn’t until the spring rains came that I actually noticed this particular tree. Up until about two weeks ago, the pond was low, the surrounding grass was mostly brown, and the tree was bare. Two weeks and several rainy days later, it is alive and vibrant and inspiring. And even though this tree isn’t by a “river of water”, it is a “tree that’s planted by the water” and every day it does serve to remind me that “I shall not be moved!”

3 thoughts on “I Shall Not Be Moved

  1. Jana Swartwood says:

    What a beautiful tree and a beautiful thought. I had to memorize that psalm in junior high, and I always loved the tree imagery. It’s interesting…he’s not like a tree that springs up out of nowhere, bears its fruit quickly and out of season, and withers. For the godly man (or woman), rooted in the word of the Lord, growth and fruit come in their appropriate time, and longevity is the result.

Leave a Reply

