Memories Worth Making

I have read several blog posts over the last 11 days concerning the tragedy of 9/11/2001. I didn’t post on this past 9/11, because I was making new memories that day. I was making memories with my fiancé, Stan, as we began a new chapter in our lives. I remember that tragic day as if it was yesterday. It is a day that lives in my memory as vivid as the blue sky above me today. I was living in Tulsa, alone, and working for a local travel agency. I was driving to work on that Tuesday morning, running late as usual, when my father called to tell me that a plane had just hit the World Trade Center. I was horrified. I rushed to work where the news had already hit. As travel agents, we knew this day would not be an easy one for us. Shortly after I arrived at work, someone showed up with a small television so that we could watch the news coverage. I still remember the seven of us huddled around that little television in shock. There was a feeling in that room like I’ve never experienced before or since. We were frightened, saddened, angered, and tearful. Our America, our home, was under attack, and all we could do was watch and pray. We spent the majority of our day on the phone, answering calls from our travelers, begging us to help them find a way home. All we could do was offer comfort and promise that we were doing everything we could to see them safely to their families.

I was terrified to stay alone that night, so I called a friend and asked if I could spend the night at her home. What I remember most is waking up on September 12th, to the sound of a voice on the radio saying something like, “The rescue workers are still hearing the cries of people that are trapped under the rubble.” Suddenly, it was like the tragedy was happening all over again. I cried for my country again. I still cry for my country.

Stan flew into Joplin on September 11, 2006, to move here so that he could marry me. Today, my memories of September 11, 2001 are as vivid as they always were, but I will not let anyone steal the joy of that date for me. I made a new memory that I can associate with that day. I encourage everyone to do the same. Oh, I know that this year’s 9/11 has passed, but there are more to come. Please don’t misunderstand me, I am not suggesting that anyone forget what happened on that tragic day in 2001. We should never forget. We should never forget our fallen. We should never forget our patriots. We should never forget the memories that day. That day will live in infamy. But we can make new memories. We cannot let any person that would try to destroy our independence and freedom steal anything from us. They have tried, and they have failed. America is my home, and I love her. And yes, it’s old, but I still sing it with all my heart:

And I’m proud to be an American
Where at least I know I’m free
And I won’t forget the men who died
And gave that right to me
And I’ll proudly stand up, next to you, and defend her still today
‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land
God Bless the USA

This is OUR America! And no matter what anyone may tell you, this country was founded on the unflinching Word of God. Our freedom was founded on that same Word. Let us not take one single day of freedom for granted!

We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed—always carrying about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body. For we who live are always delivered to death for Jesus’ sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh.

2 Corinthians 4:8-11

God Bless America!

One thought on “Memories Worth Making

Leave a Reply

