All About Books

I found this one on Emily’s site, who is getting married on the same day as Stan and I. I think that makes us wedding buddies! Anyway, I loved this meme, so I’m doing it. And it’s perfect for this site because it’s all about books!!!!

Book meme:

1. One book that changed your life:
Perelandra
by C. S. Lewis

2. One book that you’ve read more than once:
Gone With the Wind
by Margaret Mitchell

3. One book you’d want on a desert island:
The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook
by Joshua Piven and David Borgenicht and Dozens of Experts

4. One book that made you laugh:
Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day
by Judith Viorst

5. One book that made you cry:
God Came Near
by Max Lucado

6. One book that you wish had never been written:
The Great Divorce
by C. S. Lewis

7. One book you’re currently reading:
At the Back of the North Wind
by George MacDonald
(No, Jai, I still haven’t finished it.)

8. One book you’ve been meaning to read:
The Seven Lamps of Architechture
by John Ruskin

9. Book that you bought but haven’t read:
Ivanhoe
by Sir Walter Scott

10. Book everyone should own:
Pride and Prejudice
by Jane Austen

13 thoughts on “All About Books

  1. Coley says:

    Of course you do. Almost every person I’ve ever talked to that has actually read it loves it. I don’t. I have my reasons, and I’m working on a post about those reasons. You’ll know why soon (not that you really asked why, but you commented, so you might as well have).

  2. Amy says:

    I once hosted a book chat for The Great Divorce. Most of the women hated it. They didn’t get it. Things only got worse when I mentioned Plato’s myth of the cave. Actually the book chat went so badly, I cried when they left.

  3. Emily says:

    the thing i loved about this meme (and no, i’m not “bloggy” enough to know what a meme is…except it’s how my name is pronounced by a 20-month old!) is that people have such difference reading experiences and tastes. Like Pride and Prejudice. I have a degree in English…and read like it’s going out of style…but have never read it. it’s now on “the list.” And yes, we’re definitely wedding buddies. and soon we’ll be newly-wed buddies! šŸ™‚

  4. Coley says:

    Emily, there are so many books that as an English major, I haven’t read. The list is endless. I will say, I didn’t read P&P until just a few years ago, and once I had, I was so upset with myself for waiting so long to read it. It is a wonderful book!

  5. Jana Swartwood says:

    Hey, I did the survey on my blog! Check it out. As for your list: great job. You really should get around to Ivanhoe (after the wedding, of course). Knights, swords, damsels in distress–it’s wonderful!

  6. Emily says:

    not that you you have any real time to read right now, but add “The Book Thief” to your list of must-reads when life settles down. I just started it. read the introduction twice. It’s totally worth the read, and i can say that only 100 pages into it!

  7. Jana Swartwood says:

    Ok, so I’m trying to remember. I think I’m supposed to say “best wishes” to you and “congrats” to Stan. I would hate to mess it up and have Emily Gilmore come after me. So…. Best wishes! Much happiness to you!

Leave a Reply

