“We Invite You All To Come To Texas”

Tonight, Stan and I are leaving to go to Texas for the weekend! TEXAS!!!! I’m so excited! I haven’t been to Texas in about 2 years! I’m so excited! (Um, did I say that already?) I can’t wait to cross the state line!

When I was a teenager, we went nearly every summer to see the Texas Musical in Canyon. For years, it told the story of Calvin Armstrong, a fictional character that wanted to make a life for himself on the Texas plains. Now, I don’t really know what the musical is about, because they’ve changed it and I haven’t seen it in years.

I did, however, purchase the soundtrack to the original musical a few years back, and when the first song begins they sing:

We invite you all to come to Texas.
We expect you all to come to Texas.
If you feel inclined to roam,
or you’ve got to run from home,
you will find a friendly place in Texas.
There’s no better place to be than Texas.
You can look around and see in Texas.

When I lived in Tulsa, I would drive back to visit the folks a lot, and I had this tradition of playing that song when I crossed the state line. I would try to time it where the first Texas hit exactly when I saw the “Welcome to Texas” sign. And then I would usually cry. I’m crying as I write this because I’m so happy to be going home for a couple of days! (Yes, Carthage is home now, but Texas will always be home.)

So, we’re leaving tonight after work, and I’m just counting down the hours until we’re on the road to TEXAS!

Leave a Reply

