Mobilization . . .

I have been friends with Joel and Amy for a long time. I even sang at their wedding. I sang Steven Curtis Chapman’s “Go There With You.” I think that now, more than ever in their marriage, the words of that song ring true.

I know you’ve heard me say these words before
But every time I say I love you the words mean something more
I spoke them as a promise right from the start
I said death would be the only thing that could tear us apart
And now that you are standing on the edge of the unknown
I love you means I’ll be with you wherever you must go

I will take a heart whose nature is to beat for me alone
And fill it up with you – make all your joy and pain my own
No matter how deep a valley you go through
I will go there with you
And I will give myself to love the way Love gave itself for me
And climb with you to mountaintops or swim a raging sea
To the place where one heart is made from two
I will go there with you

I see it in your tears – you wonder where you are
The wind is growing colder and the sky is growing dark
Though it’s something neither of us understands
We can walk through this together if we hold each other’s hand
I said for better or worse I’d be with you
So no matter where you’re going I will go there too

I will take a heart whose nature is to beat for me alone
And fill it up with you – make all your joy and pain my own
No matter how deep a valley you go through
I will go there with you

I known sometimes I let you down
But I won’t let you go – we’ll always be together

Both of my friends are going through a difficult time in their lives right now. You see, Joel is a member of the United States Army, and he is being sent overseas for several months. Today, Joel has put up a post called The Pain of Separation. Please read it.

More importantly, please pray for my friends. Pray for Joel’s safety while he is protecting our country. Pray for Amy while she is continuing her training to be an Army Chaplain. Pray for their sweet children that they will be strong. Pray for Joel’s safe return to his family.

Amy, remember? “Pray for me, and I’ll pray for you. Pray that we will keep the common ground. Won’t you pray for me, and I’ll pray for you. And one day love will bring us back around, again.”

I love you guys!

4 thoughts on “Mobilization . . .

  1. Joel says:

    Thanks Nicole!You would love it here. The mountains are awesome, and the military aircraft are all over. If it wasn’t for the whole combat zone thing, and all the mines, this would be an awesome place to come 🙂

  2. Coley says:

    And you are welcome, too, Joel.I am sure it is beautiful there. Maybe you could send some pictures??Isn’t it funny how you can still find beautiful things right in the middle of all of that ugliness?

Leave a Reply

