I should have known that it would be a musician’s dream!

As posted a couple of days ago, Stan and I are headed to Memphis tomorrow.

In my post, I asked if anyone knew the state song of Tennessee, so that I could sing it when we cross the state line. (I’ve determined to learn a song for every state so that I can sing it when I cross the border!)

Anyway, Jami directed me to a song called simply “Tennessee.” I decided that I would like to see if there were any other songs about Tennessee that I could sing. After all, when I cross over into Texas, I don’t sing the Texas state song. Instead, I sing my favorite Texas song, entitled “Texas,” from the original musical. So, I just wanted to explore my options.

I visited a few websites, and quickly discovered that Tennessee has not one, but five state songs! I shouldn’t have been surprised that the state that is home to so many musicians would have anything less.

Among the five state songs of Tennessee, I found one that I already knew, believe it or not. A little song called “Rocky Top.”

My two best friends from Arkansas, Allison and Rindy, and myself used to have a clogging routine to “Rocky Top.”

So, YAY! I have a song to sing when I cross the border!

Although, I just don’t know what I’ll do if we happen to cross over into Kentucky.

2 thoughts on “I should have known that it would be a musician’s dream!

  1. rindy says:

    Wow, I just had a vision of us clogging to good ole’ Rocky Top in the Texarkana mall. Yikes! Did we really do that or was it just a bad dream?? Hope you guys have a great time.

  2. Coley says:

    Oh yes, Rindy, we really did that! Worse than that, we made costumes for ourselves with that crazy T-shirt paint, too! Remember those neon shorts?We had a great time in Tennessee, until that big storm hit Saturday night. After that, we headed north. We did hit Kentucky and Illinois today, though. I’ll blog all about it later.

Leave a Reply

