In the News . . .

I just had to provide you with links to some of the funniest news stories I’ve read in awhile:

Madonna Tells 10-Year-Old Daughter Lourdes to Wear Less Sexy Clothes Um, can anyone say hypocrite?

Prince Charles Calls for Ban on McDonald’s Restaurants and Big Macs It’s an American tradition, anyway!

I found these while looking around Fox News for this story, which happened in Rolla, MO. Not the way to handle bad grades.

And of course, along the way I came across more of the story concerning the ridiculous claim that archaeologists have found the body of Christ. I’m not blogging about this topic, by the way, not specifically, because I don’t want to give it validity by trying to argue the point.

Since the story came out a few days ago, I have been wondering how long it would be before someone came by my desk and asked me this question, “I’ve been meaning to ask you, since your dad is a ‘man of the cloth’, how this story about the finding of Jesus’s body has affected things.” Well, it happened today. And before the questioner could finish, I said, “Oh, we think it’s hilarious!” His response was, “Oh, it hasn’t shaken anything?” “Nope,” I said, “We pretty much think it is ridiculous.”

Oh, wanna know what my favorite part of the story is? That they are actually using the term “DNA evidence” as a major factor in proving their case. This particular article that I linked has only said that they have used DNA evidence to prove that the bodies they found labeled ‘Mary’ and ‘Jesus’ are not brother and sister. Of course, most people have taken that information and said that they have proven that this is Jesus Christ with DNA evidence, which is practically impossible. Unless they managed to get a DNA match by swabbing out the Holy Grail, of course.

So, there you have it. That is pretty much all I have to say on the subject.

Oh, and you should really read the Madonna article. It’s hilarious!

2 thoughts on “In the News . . .

  1. Jana Swartwood says:

    Um, right. Because we have the Holy Grail handy, from which to gain the DNA sample. I’m sorry, but archaeology is not the same as an episode of CSI. I’m open to a lot of ideas, but seriously? I’d love to see the “evidence” that links the DNA to specific individuals who lived centuries ago.It’s kind of like the Jesus boat. Have you heard about that? It’s this boat they found from the Second Temple period, and it’s like one of the fishing boats Jesus likely used, but there’s no possible way to prove it was the very boat that Jesus sailed in, even though people try to do so.

  2. Coley says:

    Dad mentioned in church on Sunday that this isn’t the first time that someone has “discovered” this particular set of bones. When they originally discovered them, the archaeologists determined that there were too many inconsistencies for these bones to be the bones of Christ.It was the DNA thing that really got me interested in the story. Like you, I’d love to see their “DNA Evidence.”I haven’t heard about the Jesus boat. But at least with that story, they aren’t trying to prove that Jesus isn’t who He says He is.

Leave a Reply

