A Dream Come True

I know it sounds cheesy, but ever since the first time I saw Sleepless in Seattle, I have wanted to visit that city. Thanks to a wonderful husband, that desire is now fulfilled!

On Friday morning, Stan and I woke up early to make the 4 hour drive to Seattle from Portland. After breakfast in Vancouver with my father-in-law and lunch in Kingston with an old roommate of Stan’s, we took the ferry across Puget Sound and headed into the city.

Our first, and really, only, stop was Pike Place Market. There are a lot of things to do in Seattle, but I was on a mission. I was determined to have a cup of coffee from the original Starbucks store, which just happens to be at 1912 Pike Place.

(Side note: There is a lot of controversy over where the real “original location” actually is located. Some sources say that Starbucks opened in Pike Place Market in 1971. Other sources say that it opened in Seattle near Pike Place Market in 1971, then moved to its current location in 1976. It makes no difference which story is correct, this location was still the first Starbucks store to be opened, whether it was opened in the Market or near the Market and moved.)

Once that was accomplished, we basically just walked around the Market checking out the shops and people watching. We did take some time to drive by the Space Needle. We were too tired to stop and take the time to go inside. Oh, and yes Jai, in real life it does bear a slight resemblance to the ORU Prayer Tower, although less pointy.

Unfortunately, we didn’t take too many pictures in Seattle because our camera started acting up and wouldn’t focus properly. I do have a few shots of the Needle and some okay shots of Mt. Rainier, which I’ll try to post later tonight.

Oh, and my White Chocolate Mocha with Carmel was delicious! And I don’t care how crazy it sounds, it actually did taste better to me just knowing that it was brewed at the “mother-ship” of Starbucks!

3 thoughts on “A Dream Come True

  1. Coley says:

    As was the case when I was in Powell’s! I knew you were there in spirit, too! Someday, you have to go to Portland with us! (Oh, and did you see on the previous post where Emily recommended Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister? I think it is my next book after this series.)

Leave a Reply

