I don’t usually do this, but . . .

I had to share my cooking experience from last night!

I made spaghetti and meatballs, and the meatballs were made from scratch! It was really a lot easier than I thought it would be. I used a recipe I found online, but I tweaked it a little since Stan and I hate onions so much.

I got this recipe from Cooks.com. Basically, I just replaced the actual onions with onion powder, used fresh bread crumbs instead of dry, and removed the basil altogether.

MEATBALLS FOR SPAGHETTI SAUCE

1 1/2 lbs. ground beef
2 eggs
3/4 tsp. onion powder
3/4 c. fresh bread crumbs
3/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
2 tbsp. Parmesan cheese

Mix all ingredients and shape into 1 inch meatballs. On medium heat, place the meatballs in a frying pan with a small amount of olive oil until all sides are brown. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes. Add to spaghetti sauce of your choice.

Oh, and the original recipe didn’t call for me to cook the meatballs in a frying pan first, that was something I found in another recipe when I was searching. We still used Prego spaghetti sauce, because I love it! However, to warm it, I put it in the pan I had fried the meatballs in and added a few diced tomatoes.

The meal was delicious, if I do say so myself. I felt such a sense of accomplishment when I was done!

One thought on “I don’t usually do this, but . . .

Leave a Reply

