I guess I won’t know until I’ve seen it . . .

. . . but I’m not so sure about this.

When I was younger, I was a huge fan of Nancy Drew Mysteries series. I used to check them out from the Columbia County Library. They were located on the 1st floor, behind the staircase, about the 3rd shelf from the bottom.

I think I’ll reread some of the books to refresh my memory, and then maybe see the movie eventually. Because it doesn’t matter what the Wiki says about the “original” texts, the Nancy Drew I grew up with was older, wiser, and more sophisticated than this 15 year-old Nickelodeon fabricated star.

I’m imagining reruns of The Amanda Show as I’m writing this. {shiver}

4 thoughts on “I guess I won’t know until I’ve seen it . . .

  1. Jana Swartwood says:

    Yeah, I don’t know. I never read the books, though, so I don’t have a strong feeling either way about how they handle the character. But the movie does seem a bit kid-ish. Which could either be good or bad. Hard to know until you actually break down and watch it.

  2. rindy says:

    Nancy Drew and the Columbia County Library…great memories! I recently heard that they are moving the library from it’s historical location to the University Assembly of God church. The gigantic new building that the church has moved out of. I’m sad. But, I guess it’s an upgrade for the library, and could help them get more books, maybe, in order to fill such a huge place. Anyway, I thought you would probably commiserate with me.

  3. Coley says:

    Oh, Jai, the early books are wonderful. Once they tried to make Nancy Drew seem like one of the Sweet Valley Twins, everything changed, but the early books . . . wonderful! I’m planning to reread them soon!

  4. Coley says:

    Rindy, I’m so sad. They’re moving our beloved library. 😦I loved that library. I credit that library for fueling my love of Shakespeare.I wonder when the official move date is? Maybe I could sneak a visit down there before everything changes.

Leave a Reply

