May I Recommend a Sandwich?

Last night, Stan and I decided to try a new sandwich place in Joplin. Maybe you’ve heard of it. It’s called Jimmy John’s. (I guess I should have put this one up on the Taco blog, but it isn’t really about tacos, and I’m not really sure that anyone ever reads that one anyway.)

But I digress . . .

We decided to try this place because we wanted a sandwich, and I had heard it was good. I saw the restaurant a few days ago, as it has only been open for a couple of weeks. I had to laugh because there is a sign in the window that says “Free Smells.” We walked in the door, and were immediately greeted with a chorus of, “Welcome to Jimmy John’s” by the entire staff. (We later found out that this is expected of the staff.) The restaurant was very clean. It was a little loud, but very friendly and casual. It took us awhile to order because we wanted to peruse the menu carefully before making a selection. Jimmy John’s has three choices for a sandwich. They have a fresh baked French bread, wheat bread, and lettuce wraps. They don’t serve soups or salads, only sandwiches, a quality I found very refreshing. I finally decided on a Beach Club. The Beach Club is turkey breast with provolone cheese, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, alfalfa sprouts, mayo, and avocado spread. It was the avocado spread that sold me. I ordered it on the French bread, because it was fresh. Well, let’s just say that my initial reaction to Stan was, “I want to eat here every day!” The sandwich was delicious. It was fresh, cool, and tasty. As warned by a staff member, the French bread was not as soft as the bread at some of the other sandwich places, which was awesome because my sandwich never got soggy! The bread actually held up throughout the entire meal. This was one of my favorite things. With my meal, I also ordered a chocolate chunk cookie. At the recommendation of another staff member, I took the cookie home to eat. I put it in the microwave for about 30 seconds and had it with a glass of milk before bed. YUMMY!

If I were rating this restaurant on the Taco blog, it would definitely get a 5 out of 5 taco rating!

2 thoughts on “May I Recommend a Sandwich?

  1. Emily says:

    jimmy john’s is one of my favorite places to eat here in bloomington. the other good sandwich place is dagwoods – it may be local, though…but oh so yummy!

Leave a Reply

