Reading

Wherever you are, I want to thank you, Mrs. Lann, for fueling my passion for reading. I will be forever grateful.

When I was in the third grade, our teacher read aloud to us every day. I remember those times with fondness. As I sat in class, the stories she read came alive in my imagination. I hung on every word, never daring to let my thoughts stray to recess like some of the other children, only focusing on every line while vivid images danced before my mind’s eye. I yearned to read those books and others like them. The characters were so dear to me. I was fed by these reading times. I anxiously waited each day as I stumbled through math and history to reach that wonderful time when Ms. Lann would bring out a favorite story and read one solitary chapter. The anticipation was the driving force behind my desire to do well in school.

As time progressed in my life, reading became my passion. I devoured books like a starving child would a slice of bread. I read eagerly, afraid some small detail might be missed. I reread, hoping to catch a glimpse of something new.

For it was not in television or movies that I found that joyous solitude, but in reading. In the midst of the sadness I felt at moving to a new place, there were always books to comfort me. When the life laid before me didn’t seem to go the way I planned, there were always books to comfort me. Books are unchanging. They permeate the soul and stay planted there. They can always be counted on to whisk you away to another time and place, and perhaps there you may find refuge from the woes that life piles upon you.

I regret that I do not read as much as I would like. Daily I long for the opportunity to sit and read for hours and hours all of the books on my shelf. Yet, when the opportunity arises, I find myself watching a movie, surfing the Internet, or doing something completely unrelated to reading. I hungrily search for an opening; any job opening that will allow me to be closer to books, even if I never have time to read them for myself. I want to share my love of reading with someone. I want to read aloud to a room full of children, as my third grade teacher did, in the hopes that it might spark some hunger and delight for the written word in them.

2 thoughts on “Reading

  1. Ali says:

    You didn’t want to think about recess because you didn’t want to think about Wade chasing you!!! 🙂 I had forgotten about Mrs. Lann reading to us. You were her pet that year. I think she is in LR now.

Leave a Reply

