This is the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard!

I just read an article about how Adam Shankman has “has ruled himself out of bringing the musical sequel to The Wizard of Oz to the big screen – because he’s not convinced it will translate well from the stage.” I can understand a slight concern about how it might do at the box office. Wicked is not for everyone. However, his reason for the musical not doing well as a movie is ridiculous. He states, “I’m always being asked about Wicked, but I’m uncertain people will fall in love with an actor who is green. There are big emotional moments and she is green. It’s one thing having an overweight girl in Hairspray – you see overweight people all the time- but you never see green women crying.”

You’re probably right, Mr. Shankman. I mean, thousands of theatre attenders are certainly wrong. There’s no possible way any of those people could be right, considering they all fell in love with an actor that was green. Of course, America has fallen in love with talking dogs; oh, but you’ve probably seen a talking dog before. They’ve fallen in love with superheroes that can distort their bodies and completely change form; oh, but you’ve probably seen those, too. I guess we Wicked fans will just have to resign ourselves to the fact that a world that accepts and adores talking animals and morphing human beings would never accept a green woman.

Well, Mr. Shankman, I truly hope that if they do decide to make a movie from the musical, that you have absolutely NOTHING to do with the production. I can tell from your comments that you could never have the passion for Elphaba that she truly deserves. Sadly, there’s a part of me that doesn’t even want to see Hairspray now. And I was really looking forward to it!

7 thoughts on “This is the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard!

  1. Jana Swartwood says:

    I’m sorry, but Idina Menzel could so pull off the green woman role and make the entire universe sympathetic. Not to mention the fact that Kristin Chenoweth has quite a following in TV world as well as Broadway world. That’s a lame excuse for him to make. They should get Baz Luhrmann to do the film. It might be weird, but it would be way, way cool.

  2. Coley says:

    I was really frustrated by the article. On a related note, I recently read a discussion asking people who they would recommend for the cast of the Wicked movie. People were suggesting actresses like Mandy Moore, Charlize Theron, and Hilary Swank to play Elphaba! And Nicole Kidman and Cameron Diaz for Galinda! I was horrified! You know, Rent was a success with most of the Original Broadway Cast involved. I think Wicked would be the same way. Is Baz Luhrmann the one that did Moulin Rouge?

  3. Ali says:

    Yes, Luhrmann did Moulin Rouge.The world seem to “get” a green man!! Hello-Incredible Hulk!? If they make the movie and they put any of those ridiculous actress that know nothing about a musical in it then I won’t go see it. Why would you use anyone but Menzel and Chenoweth? This has only been one of the best shows on Broadway for the past few years, by the way. It is one of my all time FAVORITES–and I’ve seen a lot of them.

  4. Emily says:

    the “theater snob” in me hopes they never make a movie of Wicked because i love the live theater version so much. But, i felt the same about RENT and was pleasantly surprised, although i still think the live show is SOOO much better. But, despite my feelings, that article was stupid. Honestly stupid. I don’t think there’s another way to put that.

  5. Coley says:

    Yes, Emily. I would probably agree with you, had I ever seen the live show. However, for those of us that don’t live in larger cities, we just have to hope and pray for movie versions of our favorite musicals.

  6. Jana Swartwood says:

    Menzel and Chenoweth are the only way to fly (moderate pun intended). Yes, Baz L did Moulin Rouge, Romeo and Juliet, and Strictly Ballroom. Maybe he isn’t perfect for Wicked–I don’t know–but he wouldn’t be afraid of all the color and movement of a musical. The cinematography would be pretty awesome.I haven’t yet seen Wicked on stage (sigh…), but from the pictures I’ve seen, it seems like a film production would have to be visually amazing, almost over the top, to work. With amazing vocals as well.

Leave a Reply

