Book Review: Time Out of Joint

This is the first review for a book on my Fall Into Reading List.

I finished Time Out of Joint by Phillip K. Dick yesterday. As far as science fiction novels go, it was fair. It played with the interesting theory of someone living in a world that was created for his benefit alone, which reminded me of The Truman Show. I actually wondered if Andrew Niccol was partially inspired by this novel when he wrote the film. To be honest, though, it was very anti-climatic at the end. As a fairly new science fiction reader, I may have been spoiled by beginning my sci-fi adventures with Thursday Next.

This book was also difficult to get started. The first few chapters were a little slow, and I stayed pretty confused until about midway through. The back cover description actually had some inconsistencies compared to what was actually going on in the novel as far as dates.

It just seemed to me that the plot of the novel was too easily resolved. There didn’t seem to be enough conflict for me to be convinced that the writer was wholeheartedly invested in this novel.

The book left me with many unanswered questions and unresolved issues. Plus, plot twists that made absolutely no sense seemed to come out of nowhere, as if the writer just threw them in because as he was writing the scene he thought this might be an interesting thing to develop; but then he never did develop it, and apparently missed it when he proofread the novel.

It was interesting enough to hold my attention for several hours, but in the final chapters, things started going downhill. The middle of the novel was good. The theory of a fabricated world made for a very interesting read. I really wish the writer had stayed with that made-up world a little longer.

All in all, I would say that this was not a terrible book, but it was not a great book either. I give it 3 out of 5 tacos book stacks stars.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Time Out of Joint

Leave a Reply

