Okay, okay, so I just love memes, and I’ll do just about any meme that has to do with books!

MEME: Reading Habits

I took this one from raidergirl3 over at An Adventure in Reading

1. Do you remember learning to read? How old were you?
I honestly don’t remember learning to read, but my father swears that I was reading the newspaper by the time I was 5.

2. What do you find most challenging to read?
Dickens. I am still searching for a work of his that will capture me.

3. What are your library habits?
I don’t go nearly as much now as I would like, but I do visit my local university library fairly often.

4. Have your library habits changed since you were younger?
Definitely. For most of my middle school and junior high school years, I went to the library every day after school, and sometimes on the weekends.

5. How has blogging changed your reading life?
Sadly, I read less now that I’m blogging, instead I end up blogging and reading blogs about books I’ve either already read, or want to read someday.

6. What percentage of your books do you get from: New book stores, second hand book stores, the library, online exchange sites, online retailers, other?
Had to be a percentage question, huh? I’m an English major, remember? We don’t do math!

This is really a difficult question to answer, because of late I’ve been purchasing the majority of my books from Literary Utopia, which sells both used and new books. So, let’s see, probably it would look something like this:

50% Literary Utopia
25% New bookstores
10% The library
10% Online retailers
5% University bookstore

7. How often do you read a book and NOT review it in your blog? What are your reasons for not blogging about books?
More often than not. Probably 75% of the books I read never get reviewed here. I’m working on reviewing more books, though!!
I don’t blog about books because I usually forget, and by the time I remember, it’s been so long since I read the book that I don’t feel confident reviewing it.

8. What are your pet peeves about ways people abuse books? Dogearing pages? Reading in the bath?
I used to dogear pages, but I stopped a few years ago (because of Jana’s influence). I don’t read in the bath, but I used to do that also. I still crack the spines of paper backs, despite how hard I may try not to (some habits are hard to break, Jai.) I also occasionally highlight and/or write in a book, but not very often.

9. Do you ever read for pleasure at work?
Yes.

10. When you give people books as gifts, how do you decide what to give them?
I don’t give people books as gifts unless I know them really well. It just doesn’t make sense to buy a book for someone that I might think is fantastic, only to discover that they despise Shakespeare.

2 thoughts on “Okay, okay, so I just love memes, and I’ll do just about any meme that has to do with books!

Leave a Reply

