Electricity and Water

Well, in case you haven’t noticed, Stan and I have been absentee bloggers this last week.

And just in case you have been in a cave, and missed the news, you might not know the reason why.

Last Sunday, a terrible storm moved in to the area and cause blackouts all across Oklahoma and south western Missouri. As Stan mentioned on our blog, our power went out on Monday. Actually, it went out on Sunday morning, then came back on Sunday afternoon. It went out again around midnight on Sunday, then came back on Monday afternoon. It went out again around 10:30 Monday night, and stayed off until Friday night. Then, after all of that, it went out again on Friday night for about 30 minutes, and flickered off and back on again this morning.

For the past week, we’ve been living at our church. We had to move there because we have well water. And when you have well water, if you have no electricity, you have no running water.

It wasn’t too bad. We had only one shower between my parents, Stan and I (and occasionally my brother and his family. They lost power, also; and got it back on Friday, also.) However, we did have enough bathrooms for all of us to be in there in the same time without being in each other’s way. We had air mattresses, so we weren’t sleeping on the floor or pews. We had heat, running water, and each other. We lost all of our food at home, so we’re slowly restocking that.

Last night, when we came home, Dad and I decided to go to the grocery store to pick up a few things, like milk and butter, just the basics, so that we would have food for breakfast. As we were getting ready to check out, Stan called to tell us that the lights had gone off again. I nearly broke down in the middle of the grocery store. We put all of the groceries back, because there was no sense in taking groceries home when we couldn’t guarantee that we’d have a refrigerator to keep the food cold. I came home and cried. It was just too much.

We have finally felt brave enough to buy groceries today, and so we do have a few things in the frig.

Throughout the week, I kept thinking how blessed we were to have what we did have, when I knew there were so many others that were so much worse off than us. I kept thinking about how grateful I was for our church, and the fact that our family was together. I kept thinking about all of the millions of every day things I take for granted, like running water, internet access, and a warm bed that isn’t filled with air. I thought about how how many times I forget to be thankful, and I determined to try to be more thankful every day for the blessings in my life.

Please keep all of the people affected by this in your prayers. There are still so many without electricity, heat and water.

3 thoughts on “Electricity and Water

Leave a Reply

