Fall Into Reading Challenge 2007: The Results

I’m sure you’ve all been anxiously awaiting the results of my progress in the Fall Into Reading Challenge I participated in this year.

Honestly, I didn’t do well.

I only read half of my book list. The other half of the list was put aside for Shakespeare. I did manage to read several plays that were not on my list for the challenge, but were on my list for my English class. I also read a couple of novels in my World literature class. I would have liked to have read more, but my priority was school.

Of the four books I read, only one was by an author I had read before. I knew the stories of Little Women and The Princess Bride, but I had never read anything by either writer. I think that my favorite read was The Princess Bride. I really enjoyed Goldman’s writing style. It was so different from the things I normally read. I loved Little Women and I am so glad to have finally read the novel! I have been trying to read it for years, and never quite made it to the end. This time was a success, and if for no other reason than that, it was worth joining the challenge. I did like Villette; but again, I much preferred Jane Eyre. I did not really like Time Out of Joint.

I have learned a few things about myself and my reading habits. I am more faithful to reading when I don’t have the pressure of a due date. I am more faithful to a book when it captures me from the first chapter. I love classic literature; but if a book has too much unnecessary description, I get frustrated and bored.

I do think that if I should decide to participate in another challenge during school months that I will set a lower goal than I did for this one.

All in all, I enjoyed being part of the challenge.

2 thoughts on “Fall Into Reading Challenge 2007: The Results

  1. Emily says:

    i too had am ambitious list and finished about half of them. What i realized was that I put books on there that I thought would ‘look’ good but really didn’t capture my interest after the first few pages. I have one of those jobs where I don’t want to have to think too hard when I pick up a book at night – so the YA fiction and the mindless stuff has been more appealing lately – even if it goes against every bone in my English degree body!

Leave a Reply

