I Honestly Don’t Know How to Respond

I suppose everyone will be blogging about Heath Ledger’s death.

I am amazed at how callous some people are about death. Forget for a moment that he was a celebrity. Forget that he stole our hearts in 10 Things I Hate About You and A Knight’s Tale. Forget his popularity. Forget all of that for now.

Remember a time when you felt the lowest you could ever feel. Remember that day you couldn’t imagine life could get any worse. Remember the feeling of despair? Remember the hopelessness. Amy just blogged about a video that seems appropriate:

Haven’t we all been there? Haven’t we all been touched by tragedy? I know I have. I have cried tears that no man could dry. I have ached so deep that I didn’t even have the words to describe it. I have sat in shock and disbelief as I was told that a dear friend had died much too young.

I never knew Heath Ledger. I have no reason to be bothered by this, but I am.

I just read an article that described the details of the discovery of his death, down to the way he was taken out of the building. It seemed so cold, so distant, so unfeeling. It made me sad. Sad for his family, that may read those words. Sad for his daughter, who will never know him; but who will always know how he died, down to the most embarrassing detail.

I truly ache for his family tonight.

Leave a Reply

