Book Review: A Study in Scarlet

Although the process is going slower than I had anticipated, I am still plugging along on my reading challenges.

After the successful reading of Agatha Christie, I had high hopes for Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I knew that Doyle was one of Christie’s influences, so I figured I would find a lot of the same elements in A Study in Scarlet.

I really didn’t.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a bad novel. It just wasn’t as good as I had anticipated. In The Mysterious Affair at Styles, I found Poirot to be delightful. He was a little cryptic, but he gave enough clues along the way to keep me guessing about the criminal. Holmes, on the other hand, didn’t even give me the chance to guess. I never had a suspect, because Doyle never tells you any names of any other characters that might be connected with the victim. I felt lost when he pronounced the guilty party, and kept thinking, “What the Frank Churchhill is going on around here?”

Still, despite that minor fact, the novel was enjoyable. It was interesting enough to keep me reading. I have read that Doyle develops Holmes a little better in future stories.

Watson, on the other hand, is fantastic. I love his character, his honesty, and his disposition.

All in all, I’d say that this was a good novel. I would probably read another. I give it 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

