I HATE POLITICS!

Everyone turns into complete jerks during an election year. They go around trying to force their politics on you, and get upset if you dare to try and disagree with them. I once worked with a woman who constantly argued about politics. She was obnoxious, rude, and condescending to anyone that didn’t agree with her. She took it personally if you dared to oppose her political choice. She complained so much that we were all finally asked by our boss to refrain from speaking of anything political. She singlehandedly took away our freedom of speech in the workplace because she was so argumentative. In this year’s election:

I will vote for who I choose, and I will not be swayed by your claims that your candidate choice is better than mine.

I will not defend my choice. I chose my candidate because his stand on the issues more closely resembles the things I believe in.

I will not cower to your boisterous ideas about your candidate just because you are the squeaky wheel.

I will not discuss politics with every person I encounter simply because it is an election year.

I will not be intimidated by your obnoxious support of a candidate that I refuse to vote for because of my own personal reasons.

I will not campaign for my candidate because I have made the choice I feel is best. You must choose for yourself who is best. Please offer me the same respect I am offering you.

I will consider all of the various candidate’s beliefs about education heavily, possibly even more heavily than issues you might think are more important.

I will, if I choose, pick a candidate based completely on the fact that they have never been either a governor of Arkansas or the wife of a governor of Arkansas.

I will select a candidate based on their potential running mate, if that is my preference.

I will vote for my choice. I don’t want your opinion. I don’t want your arguments. I have made my decision based on what I think is important.

Please do not be offended if I don’t comment on your politically themed blog posts. Honestly, I will probably not even read them. As I said earlier, I have made my choice. I do not enjoy discussing politics. I do not want to get into a political debate with anyone. This will likely be the only post I write concerning this year’s election.

2 thoughts on “I HATE POLITICS!

  1. Jana Swartwood says:

    But how do you really feel about this? :)I’ve never been a fan of politics. But I figure, a lot of people died so that we could have the right to vote, so our duty is to vote and to vote in keeping with our conscience.I don’t need to know who you voted for to know that you approached it intelligently and with the good of your country in mind, and gosh darn it, people need to just be satisfied with that and not get all bent out of shape when someone else doesn’t support their candidate of choice.

Leave a Reply

