Book Review: The Secret Adversary

I actually read The Secret Adversary last week, as an eBook. eBooks count, right?

The Secret Adversary centers around the adventures of Tommy and Tuppence. They are good friends who decide, rather spur of the moment, to begin a business of adventuring, or more specifically, detective work.

I will admit that at first I felt that the novel was a little heavy with those phrases that we have come to expect from a British novel set in the early 1900s. There seemed to be more of that than necessary for me to believe. Of course, it didn’t take me long to remember that Agatha Christie was writing this novel in 1922 for a primarily British audience, so she most like was just writing what she knew.

It really didn’t take very long for me to become fascinated with the story. Tommy and Tuppence, most especially Tuppence, are charming. The novel was fast-paced and fun to read.

In some ways, I preferred Tommy and Tuppence to Poirot. Still, Poirot is delightful.

The story took a few interesting turns, and was unpredictable in places, which is always a good sign in a mystery novel.

I think that I am still quite amazed at what a great writer Agatha Christie was.

I am only giving this one 4 1/2 out of 5 stars, because it was good, but I think that I need to leave Agatha a little room for improvement.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Secret Adversary

  1. raidergirl3 says:

    I love Tommy and Tuppence. The next to read for them is Partners in Crime. It’s a collection of their cases, short stories, but each story is in homage to a literary detective. It was cute.

Leave a Reply

