I’m definitely not as crazy as I thought

So, we all know that Nicole is a fan of New Kids on the Block, right? We’ve established that over the past week.

Well, I’ve been reading a lot of articles, blog posts, and comments on the articles and blog posts and I have discovered that I am not insane. But some of these people are:

Actual comments I read today (names edited to protect the insane):

“Please come to ******. My husband wont let me fly to New York to see you guys. Oh well – i guess there’s always divorce. He he. Ive still got my priorities right!”

Actually, no, you don’t have your priorities right.

“ohhh jordan, you still look as yummy as you did in the 90’s. i am sooo glad that they are getting back together. it reminds me of when i was a teenager foaming at the mouth.”

“Joey Joe McIntyre – what can I say……………..I loved you then and now your a MAN!!!!! Soooooooooooooooo gorgeous. Pleeeeeeeeeeeease come to the ********* (Name) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx”

“I need to be sedated. if I see this man up close again I’ll lose it. Just to be in the same room with him ,to know we’re sharing the same oxygen, i feel like a giddy school girl, LOVES THE DONNIE!!!!!!!”

Points to notice, in no particular order:

1) One fan jokingly (I hope, anyway) comments that she will divorce her husband if he doesn’t let her see them. My question is, why would any married person even joke about divorce?

2) One fan admits that they foamed at the mouth. Well, that’s just gross. That makes her no better than a dog with rabies.

3) The sheer number of x’s. Don’t worry, there are more where that set came from.

4) One fan needs to be sedated. Do you think she understands the function of a sedative? From the Wiki: “A sedative is a substance that depresses the central nervous system (CNS), resulting in calmness, relaxation, reduction of anxiety, sleepiness, and slowed breathing, as well as slurred speech, staggering gait, poor judgment, and slow, uncertain reflexes.” I’m not sure that someone who is that excited would really want to risk having slurred speech and a staggering gait when she finally meets “The Donnie.”

5) The horrid grammatical errors. Apparently, they were so busy foaming at the mouth over them when they were teenagers that they were unable to pay attention in English class.

This is terrible. Don’t get me wrong, the reunion is awesome. I’m really excited about it. I loved their music when I was a teenager. However, some of these people are acting plain stupid. When I watched the recording of the announcement on The Today Show, some of those women (grown women, mind you) were screaming so loud that you couldn’t even hear the interview. It was ridiculous. I’m all for them getting back together, and excited about the new album, but surely the fans have the ability to act a little better than they did in their teens, right? Their kids are watching them act like this. Furthermore, because of the internet, their grandchildren will have an opportunity to see how utterly silly they acted. Is this the legacy they really want to leave?

I imagine that it isn’t going to get any better, which is sad, because it brings the reunion down to a teenage level. Since we aren’t teenagers any more, I feel a little silly being associated with these adult women who are acting like morons, screaming out marriage proposals on live television. It makes me feel that I wouldn’t go to a concert, even if they were close and I could afford it, simply because I want to be able to hear the music, and I don’t want to be put in the same category as these women who would joke about divorcing their husbands over these men.

So, that is how I feel. I will still listen to the music, watch the television specials, and be a fan. I am just one of the few fans that has a grip on reality.

2 thoughts on “I’m definitely not as crazy as I thought

  1. Coley says:

    Jai, I definitely think it was the fact that it was 4:30 in the morning. Birds are funny at 4:30 in the morning. I should know. I’ve laughed at them.

Leave a Reply

