Sad News

Singer/Songwriter Dottie Rambo died this weekend. Most of you probably have no idea who she is, but I can guarantee you that if you have been to church, you have heard her songs. She won the Dove award in 1981 for her song “We Shall Behold Him,” something she is experiencing right now.

Incidentally, she also wrote a song called “Germs (My Invisible Dog)”, which no one I know has ever heard, except for my cousin, who taught it to me.

All I can remember of it is, “I hide him in my pocket ’cause he’s very, very small. Germs, Germs, my invisible dog.” I used to sing it to Jana about this kid we went to school with, who was super short, but super cute.

Another of her songs, called “Going to a Wedding”, was one that one of my favorite groups, The Costley K’s, used to sing when I was little.

Needless to say, Dottie’s music has had a major impact on my life. She was a phenomenal songwriter, and will be greatly missed.

In addition to Dottie’s death, there were many other weather-related deaths and injuries in our area over the weekend. Please remember to pray for those affected.

4 thoughts on “Sad News

  1. rindy says:

    Are you kidding! I used to love the song Germs. We sang it in a kids musical at church when I was a kid. How fun. I didn’t know that the same woman who wrote that song also wrote We Shall Behold Him.

  2. Ashley says:

    I know Dottie Rambo. My mom always listened to her on the Gaither videos every Sunday morning before church. :0) That’s sad, but we know we’ll meet her one day. I love the song, “We Shall Behold Him.”

  3. Ice Cream Family says:

    Don’t you guys remember (Rindy and Nicole)? Ms. Huddleston taught us Germs in 5th grade. She hand wrote it out and gave us copies. We sang it everytime we went to music…that and “50 Nifty United States…” 🙂

Leave a Reply

