Movie Review: Prince Caspian

I’m just a little surprised. I know that I can’t possibly be the only person who went to see Prince Caspian this weekend. I really believed that at least one author of the many literary-related blogs I read would have blogged about it by now.

We went to see this on Sunday afternoon. I was really excited. There weren’t that many people there, so we had pretty good seats.

The movie was good. Notice that I said good, and not amazing. I know that this wasn’t my favorite of the books, so it is easy to see why I didn’t enjoy this movie as much as the first. Despite that, it was a good movie. Of course, I noticed some inconsistencies. I noticed some things that were left out, and some things that were added, of course.

I really felt that they didn’t develop the Aslan side of the story as well as Lewis did in the novel. I kept waiting for scenes with him and Lucy that the filmmakers seemed to think unimportant to the story.

Actually, there were several story lines that they didn’t take the time to develop like I thought they should. There was less story and more fighting in this one, which I didn’t like.

Overall, it was a good film. I will buy it, if for no other reason than because I will want the entire collection. It is a means to an end, though. It moves us that much closer to The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Yay!

Leave a Reply

