Just Keep Singing

August has been a bad month. We’re only 5 days in, I know, but it has still been a bad month.

Three major events, and one minor event have happened in the past 5 days that have rocked my world. I can’t go into detail on all of the events, so I won’t go into detail on any of them. Let’s just say that I know a number of people that need prayer, desperately. And they need it today.

I was thinking about these situations this morning, and I said to myself, “It doesn’t change God. These circumstances may change us, but they will never change God.” That gave me comfort.

A few days ago I handwrote a post that I wasn’t ready to publish. I am now:

July 30, 2008

I made a discovery today. I was writing words of hope. I needed some encouragement, so I started writing phrases that have given me hope in the past.

“I anticipate the inevitable, supernatural intervention of God.”

“I’m believing in the substance of things hoped for, and looking for the evidence of things not seen.”

“Where could I go, but to the Lord?”

One of the things I wrote was from a poem by Emily Dickinson that I have quoted many times:

“Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune without the words,
And never stops at all.”

When I reread it, it triggered something in my memory. I thought for a moment. I knew it was a song. I could hear Michael W. Smith in my head, but couldn’t find the right lyrics. I mentally sang a few bars of “Place in this world.” Then, the lyrics I was searching for hit me:

“It’s like wanting to sing,
But needing a song.
“When will I hear the music playing?”

I used to sing “Somebody Love Me” as a prayer when I was single, along with other songs about searching for love. But there was something true in that particular line that I could understand. Even now, I have times in my life when I want to sing, but cannot think of a song that I actually want to sing. I hum a few bars of something, but can’t get in to it because it isn’t the song I want to sing. I want a new song, a different song than the ones I always sing.

But what about the “thing with feathers”, who “sings the tune without the words”? He doesn’t let the desire for a new song stop him from singing it. He just sings a song, even if he has no words. And he never stops.

He never stops.

Why don’t we do that? Why don’t we sing even when we don’t have a song? Why don’t we just keep singing? Through all of it, the good and bad, the highs and lows, the yeses and noes?

I’m sure that I’m as guilty of this as anyone can be. I let the lows, and the noes, get me down. I stop singing. I forget why I’m singing in the first place:

“I sing because I’m happy
I sing because I’m free
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know He watches me.”

“You ask me why my heart keeps singing
How I can sing when things go wrong
But since I found the source of music
I just can’t help it
God gave the song.”

“When everything falls apart
Praise His Name
When you have a broken heart
Raise your hands and say
‘Lord, You’re all I need
You’re everything to me
And He’ll take the pain away.
When it seems you’re all alone
Praise His Name
When you feel you can’t go on
Raise your hands and say
Greater is He, that is within me
You can praise the hurt away
If you’ll just praise His name.”

Over the weekend, Stan indulged me and sat with me through about 3 Gaither Homecoming videos. He knew that I needed it, so he patiently sat with me through them all.

I heard a song, by Andre Crouch, that I had forgotten about. It is called “Through it All”. It fits me today.

Through It All

Verse 1
I’ve had many tears and sorrows,
I’ve had questions for tomorrow,
there’s been times I didn’t know right from wrong.
But in every situation,
God gave me blessed consolation,
that my trials come to only make me strong.

Chorus
Through it all,
through it all,
I’ve learned to trust in Jesus,
I’ve learned to trust in God.

Through it all,
through it all,
I’ve learned to depend upon His Word.

Verse 2
I’ve been to lots of places,
I’ve seen a lot of faces,
there’s been times I felt so all alone.
But in my lonely hours,
yes, those precious lonely hours,
Jesus lets me know that I was His own

Chorus

Verse 3
I thank God for the mountains,
and I thank Him for the valleys,
I thank Him for the storms He brought me through.
For if I’d never had a problem,
I wouldn’t know God could solve them,
I’d never know what faith in God could do.

5 thoughts on “Just Keep Singing

  1. Emily says:

    don’t know the details, don’t need to know the details. Know you’re in my heart and prayers. May you keep hearing His song during your difficult time! The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.” – Zeph 3:17

Leave a Reply

