Sometimes Christians are just mean

Do you agree? Sometimes Christians are the meanest people I ever meet. And I think that is very, very sad.

Example 1:

Jon over at Stuff Christians Like posted about a girl named Emily who wrote an honest letter about her upcoming mission trip. The letter was funny. I honestly don’t know what I would have done if I had received a letter like that, but I think it would depend on the person that sent it and how well I knew them. If I knew them well enough to know that their heart was sincere and that they were bent towards sarcasm, I would probably give them every dime I could. I love honesty, and I think Christians need more of it. However, the comments section is something I wish I hadn’t read. Some of those people are so holier-than-thou and mean with their comments. They are forgetting the second greatest commandment. I don’t deny their right to think the letter was wrong. I just think that they are expressing that the wrong way.

Example 2:

There is this woman that works at the company where Stan and I work. She is the rudest person I have ever met. Every attempt I have ever made to be friendly to her has been rejected. She has never spoken to me. Ever. I have tried to be friendly to her, saying “Excuse me.” when I am in her way, saying “Good morning.” when we pass in the hall. She refuses to speak to me. It doesn’t matter what I say to her, she will not speak to me. My problem? I saw her wearing a Larry the Cucumber T-shirt. While I know that wearing a Larry the Cucumber T-shirt doesn’t make you a Christian, I do know that she can’t be ignorant of the fact that Veggie Tales represents Christianity to people that know who they are. By wearing that T-shirt, it is like the wearer is saying, “Hey, this is Larry the Cucumber. He is part of a Christian children’s program. I wear this because I believe what he teaches.” So, I have made the assumption that this woman is a Christian. Which was probably my first mistake. She doesn’t act like one. If I hadn’t seen her in the Larry the Cucumber T-shirt, I would have never, in my wildest dreams, even thought there might be an ounce of Christianity in her.

The bottom line is that sometimes Christians are mean. Sometimes they are rude and arrogant and I want to slap them until they act like Jesus. But if I did that I wouldn’t be acting like Jesus. Sometimes I think I am mean. Stan is pretty good about keeping me in check at restaurants and stores when I want to just be a difficult customer, but sometimes I am rude and unChristian. I don’t like that side of myself, but it is there and it is very real.

I don’t want to be that kind of Christian. I don’t want to be the kind of Christian that fits the stereotype. I don’t want to be the kind of Christian that gives people the opportunity to say, “Yep, that’s what I thought Christians were like.” People don’t want fake, holier-than-thou Christianity. They’ve had enough of that. I’ve had enough of that. I got enough by attending two Christian colleges. All of that fake holiness made me become someone I never wanted to be. It made me critical, skeptical, and complacent. It made me cringe and close myself off whenever someone wanted to pray for me. It made me dread hearing the words, “God told me to tell you . . . .”

I want to be the kind of Christian that I see Jon Acuff as. I want to be the kind of Christian that makes people say what my good friend Brett once said about me, “You are either a hypocrite, or you are the coolest Christian I’ve ever met.” I want people to think that I’m the coolest Christian they’ve ever known. When people think you are the coolest Christian ever, then they start to wonder if their negative ideas about Christianity were wrong. They second guess their disbelief, because they see something in you that is real.

One thought on “Sometimes Christians are just mean

  1. Emily says:

    I know this was a hard post for you to write, but i think it said some very important things. The whole thing reminds me of Ghandi’s infamous quote. “I like your Christ, but your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” (or something like that). I deal with this a lot, and this spoke to me today in a big way. I am going to spend a long hard weekend in the middle of a lot of negative feelins and emotions, and I needed to be reminded that I’m not to give into that, but instead should love everyone, be real, and try and be ‘the coolest Christian’ they’ve ever met, as well.

Leave a Reply

