The Format War is On

I know how the world works. Inevitably, unless Apple has a hand in the production, people will choose the product that has less quality. That is why I fear for the new Sony Reader. I want one. It is unbelievable. Read this detailed three-part review by Mike Cane, and you will understand what I mean.

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3

Amazon’s Kindle just cannot compare. There is a rumor that Amazon plans to release a 2nd generation Kindle, but if the pictures on this site are any indication, Amazon has still not come far enough to top the new Sony reader. It is still ugly. It still doesn’t have a touchscreen. And it is actually larger than the previous clunky model. I just don’t see how they can win this war.

Sony has created what Mike Cane is calling the “iPod of eBooks”. I totally agree. They still have a few kinks to work out, but if Sony will stay focused and committed, I think they will win this eBook war, hands down.

The new Sony reader, due to release next month, will be $100 higher than the current model. While that may seem like a rip-off, trust me, it isn’t. If the Sony reader 700 is as awesome as the reviews make it sound, it will be worth every penny. I have spent the past 24 hours trying to justify purchasing the new model as a “school expense”. After reading Mike’s review, I am decided. It is on my wish list, and I hope to buy it as soon as possible.

If you have even briefly thought about purchasing an eBook reader, I urge you to read Mike’s reviews. They will sell you on Sony. I guarantee it!

2 thoughts on “The Format War is On

  1. Coley says:

    I used to feel that way, and still do love the feel of a real book, while at home. This will be useful because of its mobility. When we fly to Portland, I never pack less than four books, usually more, and four+ books gets heavy after a while. Also, I prefer to have at least one or two books with me at all times, so this way I could carry hundreds, and always have a book to read wherever I am!Right now, I am working my way through all of Jane Austen’s novels, which I have in one volume. Needless to say, it is really heavy. Also, most of my classic novels are leatherbound and I prefer not to take them out of the house, so with an ereader, I can take them with me without worrying about my beautiful collection being destroyed!Mostly, I am planning to use this for classes that require me to have several books, like the one I’m in this semester that requires 6 novels. With this, I can carry all of the books required for a class with me at all times, always having them to reference for class discussion.I have a lot of reasons for wanting one, but none of them diminish the fact that I will still read real books. I plan to continue expanding my real library.

Leave a Reply

