That’s it, I’m suing!

I read an article, about a man from Batman, Turkey, who is supposedly suing Warner Brothers “looking for a cut in the (Batman) film’s royalties in exchange for using the city’s name without permission.” Huh?

So, I did a little research:

“Batman first appeared in Detective Comics #27 (May 1939).” –Wiki

I cannot find any information on exactly when Batman, Turkey, was founded, but I did learn that “Until the 1950s, Batman was a small village. When oil companies moved in and the city’s economy started to grow, population figures began to rise.” (Wiki)

So, I’m making a list of people I can sue for using mine and Stan’s names. Watch out, Stans and Nicoles!

3 thoughts on “That’s it, I’m suing!

  1. Coley says:

    Well, I actually did know that Turkey was a prime location for Biblical events. I think I am just a little less inclined to believe that this particular community of Batman, which is centered on an oil refinery that was founded around 1955, has been functioning ever since Moses found the Ten Commandments under the name of Batman. You know?

  2. rindy says:

    haha, true, very true. this whole little story makes me laugh so much because it’s just so typical of the people here in Turkey. according to most of my friends here, EVERYTHING came from Turkey originally. it gets really comical after a while. so this makes me really laugh that now a Turkish guy is claiming ownership of the name Batman. oh how I love Turkey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

