Movie Review: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day

If you haven’t seen Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, it is worth your time for no other reason than this:

That is Lee Pace, the star of the not so impressive drama “Pushing Daisies“, which is also the television home of the lovely Kristin Chenoweth. Lee Pace is adorable, and I’m not just saying that because he looks so much like my gorgeous friend Brandon. I’m also saying that because he is from Oklahoma, and I learned a long time ago that boys from Oklahoma are simply gorgeous. Apparently, that is also the case with boys from Oregon. Must have something to do with the ‘O’. I wonder if boys from Ontario are equally gorgeous? Oh, yes, there is Eric McCormack, and Jim Carrey.

But I digress . . .

I watched Miss Pettigrew last night and it was delightful. Did I mention that it has one of my favorite Irish actors, Ciaran Hinds? Do you think he speaks Irish Gaelic? Probably.

Anyway, Miss Pettigrew is an excellent film. I was a little concerned at first, because when it begins it does feel like it takes a long time to get to the heart of the story. There is a lot of silliness for the first 20 to 30 minutes, but I think that it was intended to be that way. It certainly isn’t the kind of movie that you walk away from thinking, “This is the greatest movie I’ve ever seen.” However, it has a great cast, Amy Adams, Shirley Henderson (who you’ll remember as Jude from Bridget Jones’s Diary), Frances McDormand and those mentioned above, and it is just a fun, feel-good movie. I really liked it.

I’m giving it 5 out of 5 stars, because it was fun to watch, and it had a wonderful cast. I’d buy it.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day

Leave a Reply

