Writing for Inspiration

My first day has been moderately successful. I did read ten poems, and I am writing a blog post. However, I’m not 100% certain I’ve written for 20 minutes. I spent 5 minutes writing in my journal, and another 10 to 15 writing on my computer. I did not write for 20 minutes straight, but I hope that starting tomorrow, I will be able to do that.

The problem with making a commitment like this one is that immediately after I made it, I started thinking about all of the things that would interfere with this schedule. I also started thinking about all of the other things I wanted to do, like watch movies, read Fforde, and play Xbox.

Still, I made the commitment, and I plan to stick to it. Part of being a great writer is sacrificing the time to write, right?

I’ve been thinking a lot about friendship lately, and I find myself wondering how I ever made any friends. It is hard work. I’m willing to do the work, but not if the effort I make is one sided. So, I struggle between wanting to make plans with many different groups of people and wanting to find that one, or maybe two couples that just fit with us.

I know that friendship is a two-way street, and I feel that if we could ever find people that would meet us halfway, it would be great. One of the biggest obstacles we face is the fact that we don’t have children. Most of the couples we know have kids. And it isn’t that we don’t like kids, we do. But it is the same issue I ran into when I was single: it is just difficult to find common ground with marrieds when you are single, and with marrieds with children when you are just married. I felt a little discouraged last night, and had a little pity party for us. Stan didn’t join in. He was encouraging, as usual.

And we have friends, really amazing friends, in fact. It is just that most of them live in other cities, other states, and other countries. So, we find ourselves with the mission of needing to make new friends, and it is a difficult road, but I know it will be worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

