Teavana, How do I love thee? Let me count the ways . . .

Once again, I need to blog about tea.

I know I’ve told you about Teavana. In case you’ve forgotten, Teavana is to tea what Powell’s is to books. Utopia. Teavana only sells loose teas, and they only sell the highest quality teas. I discovered Teavana when Stan and I visited Dallas during Thanksgiving holidays in 2007. They have more tea varieties than I ever imagined possible, and their teas are delicious. I’ve recently gotten a friend hooked on the teas, and we just placed an order that is being delivered today! I’m so excited!

Currently, I’m really into rooibos teas. For those of you less familiar with the intricacies of tea, you should really know about rooibos, so here’s a link to the Wiki page. My favorite line from that page is “In South Africa it is more common to drink rooibos with milk and sugar.” I always drink my tea with milk and sugar, and hate that people think it is weird. The British do it, and so do the South Africans. Since rooibos tea is from South Africa, I’ll drink it their way.

Anyway, rooibos tea is really delicious, and because it is red, it is closer to pink, which makes me happy!

I have two different types of rooibos tea in the batch I just ordered, and I’m already planning my next order. Tea is becoming much more interesting than coffee, and it is better for me, too!

2 thoughts on “Teavana, How do I love thee? Let me count the ways . . .

  1. Emily says:

    Tea makes me happy. I’m no expert and don’t think i’ve ever had loose-leaf tea 😦 but I love to drink herbal tea at least 3 times a day. My current favorite is some lemon-berry stuff. It too, is pink. And pink is ALWAYS good.

  2. Coley says:

    Emily, I’m sure that I could get you very quickly hooked on more teas than you could ever imagine! One word: Rooibos (mentioned in this post). It is an herbal tea, and so not really tea at all. It is delicious!Leaf tea is so much better than bag tea. The thing I learned that changed me over was that bagged tea is generally made from the dustings of actual tea leaves, rather than the full leaf. They do this because of the size of the bag, so I understand the necessity of the process. However, when you use loose tea, you get the full leaf, and if you make it in the right kind of tea maker, the leaf has plenty of room to fully expand and release the most flavor.I said all of that, but I do know that there are some excellent bag teas out there as well.

Leave a Reply

