Review: Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Last night I attended my first midnight showing of a movie. Yes, sports fans, I stayed up way past my bedtime in order to experience the very early opening of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince.

This morning, several people have asked the question “Was it worth it?”

The answer is yes. Yes, it was worth it. If for no other reason than the experience, it was worth it.

The other question I’ve received is, of course, “How was the movie?”

It was better than I expected. After Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, I wasn’t looking forward to this film. However, it turned out to be a good adaptation. Of course, there were some added scenes and many more deleted scenes, which always happens going from book to film. I felt there were some very crucial scenes deleted from the end, but I understand the idea behind the adaptation.

The acting was very good. I was delighted by Alan Rickman’s performance, and liked him more in this film than in the previous five. Jim Broadbent was a nice addition to the cast, and Helena Bonham Carter was brilliant as usual in her role as Bellatrix.

Going to a midnight showing is like no other experience. I have seen movies on opening day, standing in line for a few hours with friends. There is little comparison. The midnight showing brings out a very interesting group of people. I saw kids there as young as 10, and adults as old as 60 (a very generous guess, I might add).

Though I don’t plan to make a habit of going to midnight showings, I must admit that I really enjoyed myself and would probably do it again if the opportunity presented itself.

As for the film, I think it deserves 4 out 5 stars.

One thought on “Review: Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

Leave a Reply

