The Austen Semester

In exactly six days, I will be driving to Pittsburg to attend my first Austen class of the semester. I am so excited! Because of my love for all things Austen, I feel that there may be some new posts coming to you, my few, but faithful readers.

I’ve been extremely excited about this class since the moment it was announced. I’m so excited that I’ve done something I’ve never done before. I decided on a paper topic before I even started writing the papers for the previous semester’s classes. I’m in the process of reading some of the works which I’ll use for my paper, and I plan to begin researching soon.

My love for Jane has been a journey, which began when I watched the Emma Thompson version of Sense and Sensibility for the first time. There was a time when, if asked, I would have said that Shakespeare was the British writer I would specialize in when I started my graduate work. I don’t think that is the truth any longer. I still love Shakespeare, but Austen has captured me, and she shows no signs of letting go.

So, I’m reviving the blog (I think) for the semester, at least, so that I’ll have a place to share my excitement and vent my frustrations during this course. (Someday, I hope to truly revive the blog and begin posting regularly again.)

For now, it is the Austen semester on this blog and in my life. Get ready, world!

Leave a Reply

