The Journey to Start (Again)

I started this blog just over a year ago with the intent to begin a habit of writing every day.  I lasted approximately six months.  I really didn’t even last that long, if we’re being truthful.  The problem is discipline.  I want to write.  At any given time, I have about a hundred stories running around in my head.  I constantly have new ideas, new thoughts, and a new inspiration for a completely new thing.  However, I have a life.  I’m a wife.  I’m a teacher.  I’m a student.  I’m a daughter and an aunt.  I have responsibilities.  So, writing ends up at the bottom of my list of things to do each day.

In a perfect world, I would wake up every morning at 6:00 AM ready to start my day.  I would spend an hour each morning writing.  I would be productive at work, and come home energetic and not just sit in front of the TV or Xbox until I fall asleep.  But, this isn’t a perfect world, and I’m not a perfect person.  I’m just a person.  A person who gets tired of looking at a computer screen all day and wants to come home and veg out.  A person who likes playing video games.  A person who loves to read “literary junk food” that I don’t have to analyze or write a paper about.

Will I try to start again?  I don’t know.  I’m keeping this blog, that’s for sure.  I may not update it for another six months, but I’m holding this place.  Because someday, when school is finished, or when I become a college professor who needs to get published, I’m going to pick this thing up and really make something out of it, but for now it is just here as a place for me to talk to myself.

3 thoughts on “The Journey to Start (Again)

  1. Dennis says:

    Put it in my back burner for years!!! My advantage is now I’m retired so that gives me a little more time. Like you, struggling with the schedule discipline anyway.

  2. Sarah says:

    Totally understand, Nicole! There is always other stuff that needs to be done! I’ve kept my same blog, but I’m not as regular with adding to it as I want to be. But it’s fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

