The Problem with Fan Fiction

Remember all of that stuff I said about Austen fan fiction yesterday? It doesn’t apply to every writer I love. For example, I’ve never been able to get into “Doctor Who” fan fiction. The writers of the show do a great job and it would be difficult to improve on Steven Moffat’s genius. I’ve tried reading Twilight / Harry Potter crossovers, but they just don’t work for me. Harry is British, and Bella is much too blah for his world. I can’t really seem to get into Jane Eyre fan fiction, though there is not much of it out there. However, I cannot fault Jasper Fforde’s treatment of Jane Eyre in The Eyre Affair.

Recently, while searching for titles related to Mr. Darcy, Vampyre, I came across this:

Romeo & Juliet & Vampires

And this:

Little Vampire Women

Oh, and also this:

Wuthering Bites

This:

The Undead World of Oz: L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz Complete with Zombies and Monsters

This:

Alice in Zombieland

And finally, this:

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and Zombie Jim

It’s a double standard that I have, I know. If I am willing to read the Austen fan fiction, then why not Shakespeare fan fiction? Or Twain, Carroll, Alcott or Bronte?

I guess the answer is that I just have to draw the line somewhere.

Truthfully, it is difficult to put into words why Austen (and since we’re being so honest, mainly P&P) fan fiction has become so interesting to me. I know that I love their story, and I like to know what other writers think should have or could have happened. Bottom line, I just can’t get enough of the Darcy and Elizabeth story. Better than Romeo and Juliet, better than Heathcliff and Catherine, better than Rochester and Jane Eyre. Their story is the best love story I’ve ever heard, and I want to read it again and again, in a thousand different ways, knowing all the while that no matter what happens to them, they will always overcome whatever obstacles are in their way. They will always learn to get over their own pride and prejudices. They will always bring a smile to my face. And, at the end of the day, they will always be the story I love to talk about, love to read about, and love to hear.

Leave a Reply

