Movie Review: Mirror, Mirror

This past weekend, I watched Mirror, Mirror. I was excited to see it because I am generally interested in any fairy tale/literary adaptation out there. While I’ll admit that it wasn’t the best adaptation of Snow White, there were some interesting variations on the story that made it worth watching.

I like it when writers take a story that has been told in a particular way for generations and revise it, tweak it, or just give the audience an entirely new perspective.

Mirror, Mirror is like this. It’s an interesting take, mostly because if you know the standard Snow White story, then this one will surprise you throughout. They took what you thought you knew about Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs and rearranged it, tweaked it, and in some places, completely changed it. Writers have been doing this a lot lately, and I don’t always like it, but I did in this film. Probably because I’m not really a huge fan of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. It has never been my favorite fairy tale. I blame Walt Disney for that, because while I admire his courage in creating a full-lenght animated feature long before anyone had ever heard of Shrek, the woman who voiced Snow White had the most annoying voice ever.

However, in this film, the most annoying thing was Julia Roberts, and I can tolerate her much better than my husband. Nathan Lane is in the film, and he was a little disappointing. Not nearly as funny as he was in The Birdcage, but I suspect that is the writer’s fault and not Mr. Lane’s.

Overall, it was a good film, but not a great film. It certainly wasn’t epic, like I suspect a certain soon-to-be-released Peter Jackson film will be, but it was a little cute, a little funny, and interesting enough to be worth the time.

I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

