Clean and Purge . . . and Clean Again

Stan and I have been working on a serious clean-up on our house. It has felt pretty good, especially when we see how neat and tidy things look after getting rid of several bags of clothes. So far, we have worked a little in every room of the house, and although there is still a pretty big mess, it is an organized mess. It has given us a sense of accomplishment to know that we have been able to part with so much.

During this process, Stan had the brilliant idea of turning the closet in our spare bedroom into a small writing space. From the moment he mentioned it, I went crazy for the idea and had a difficult time focusing on anything else other than getting my writing space in order! The original plan had been to rearrange the spare room to turn his large desk into a place I could do school work, but I much prefer this idea. It is small, but cozy. He hung my “Shakespeare Bookstore” picture and my BA Degree (since I have no office of my own). We also moved one of our bookshelves in here along with my grandmother’s desk. I LOVE IT! I want to sit in here all day and write. I have the bookshelf organized with my school books and my lesson books for youth. The only thing missing at this time is a power cord for charging my electronic devices, but that is something we have on the shopping list. Oh and a different chair, because the stool I am currently sitting on will not be comfortable for long. One of the great things about it is the potential for distraction free writing. If I try to write in the living room, there is always the TV, the movie rack, the Xbox, just sitting there . . . waiting . . . calling out to me. In here, there are books, and, um, books.

20120806-101349.jpg

In addition to the writing space, I’ve basically cleaned all of the clothes from my closet that I haven’t worn in over a year. Basically, anything that we have that we have either never or rarely used is gone. It is a great feeling.

Overall, I’m really glad we decided to do this. I’ve enjoyed purging. It has made me want to do this in all areas of my life. I’m sure there is a spiritual message in there somewhere.

Well, the laundry is calling . . .

Leave a Reply

