Cleaning . . . Paused

After over a week of cleaning, we have come to a pause in the work. It is not a voluntary pause, but necessary. Stan has been working a little overtime this week, and so our cleaning time has been limited. I do a few things while he is at the office, but I have to admit that it is difficult to motivate myself when he isn’t here. It is so much easier to slip into my writing nook and write for a few minutes, than to actually make myself go into the kitchen and empty the dishwasher (which is exactly what I should be doing right now).

I am still excited about all that we have done, and I am finding that making one decision to get rid of something I’m keeping “just in case” is leading me to make decisions to get rid of things I may be keeping for other reasons. For instance, I have a coffee mug that I used when I was a kid. Now, of course, I didn’t drink coffee when I was little, but I used the mug for other things; cocoa, water, soda, whatever. So, I initially thought I might keep it for sentimental reasons, but as I thought about it, I realized that I’ll probably never drink out of it, and the sentiment is only partially important to me. Honestly, I don’t even remember using it that much, but I do remember it, so I had convinced myself that it was important. However, over the past few days, I’ve started to ask myself why I’m really keeping it. It isn’t like we don’t have many other coffee cups that I like to use. In fact, I much prefer my Oz Museum cup that we bought on our honeymoon, and it is currently beside me full of morning coffee. That is the cup I need to keep, because I love drinking from it, and it always makes me think of my honeymoon. So, the childhood cup is going, and the Oz cup is staying.

This experience has been an amazing learning experience for me. I’ve realized that by purging our home life physically, I am really anxious to start purging in other ways. We’ve started talking about changing the way we shop by only buying things we KNOW we will use, rather than buying things based on “maybes”. It has also made me ponder the things I might need to purge in my spiritual life. Having a room totally dedicated to writing and studying, makes me want to use it for more than just my school work. I want to use it to study the Word, to spend time with my Savior, to get back in the habit of daily bible study. Yes, this is a good experience. It has truly caused me to think a little differently about the “things” of life, and for that, I am truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

