A Decade in the Future

I’ve always hated the question, “Where do you see yourself in ___ years?”

I understand the purpose of the question. It’s an attempt to see if people are long-term goal setters, if they are willing to commit to a future. It’s a test, and I’ve never liked tests very much.

So, where do I seem myself in a decade?

Honestly? I have no idea. Every time I’ve tried to predict the direction of my life, I’m so far off that I’d need a map to get back on track.

There are things I know about my life, about myself and the way my mind works. There are things about me that will not change. I will probably always love tacos. I’ll always think of both Texas and Arkansas as home. I’ll keep on cheering for the Yankees, even if they never win another World Series.

But 10 years is a long time, and for all of the things about me that will stay the same, there are so many other things that will change.

I can only start working towards a goal and hope I achieve it. I can only think of what I want to change about my life right now and see what path that decision leads me down. Ten years could be the difference between who I am now and who I’ve never even dared to imagine I could be; or it could mean that I’m just 10 years older and most of that wiser.

So, as for the question, “Where do you see yourself in 10 years?”, the answer is:

“Who knows? Look me up in 10 years and find out.”

Leave a Reply

