A Decade of Singing

If I could travel to any decade and visit, I don’t think I’d pick the Victorian era. Some of you are surprised, and if this were any other week, I’d probably say, “Give me Queen Victoria over the 80s any day.”

This week is different. This week, I miss the 80s. Hold on. Before you paint me with too much neon, it isn’t the hair or the spandex. It isn’t the TV shows, the pop songs, or the movies.

It’s the music.

Not the pop music. I ruled that out, remember? It’s the music of my childhood. I was talking to my Mom the other day about music in the church, and she said something that’s had me thinking. She said, “What I hate is that we’ve thrown away so many good songs.”

She wasn’t just talking about hymns. She was also talking about the praise and worship choruses of the 80s. Remember those? Songs like “Because He Lives,” “All Hail, King Jesus, “Lord, You are More Precious,” and “Majesty.”

I miss those songs, don’t you?

I like a lot of the new worship songs we sing. I love Unhindered’s music, and Kim Walker-Smith and Jesus Culture. (Although, I’m so tired of Chris Tomlin that I could scream.)

But I miss those old songs. They were good, and we threw them over for songs with complicated melodies and even more complicated harmonies. We tossed them aside for really long, boring songs with too many words. We kicked them to the curb for songs that sometimes don’t even make sense (I’m still talking to you, Tomlin).

If I could go back in time, I’d go back to the days when we sang those songs. I slip in the back of our churches and sing them all once again at the top of my lungs. I’d relish it this time. The first time around, I didn’t know how precious those moments were. I didn’t realize how much our worship style would change. I didn’t know we would lose our past entirely.

I want to bring some of those songs back. I want a couple of nights around the piano or guitar with someone who can play a few of these. I want to sing songs I don’t have to think about so that I can just enjoy worship.

Let’s do it. Let’s plan a night, just a few of us, around a piano, and sing some of these oldies. It’ll be great. You’ll love it, I promise. We’ll party like it’s 1989.

Leave a Reply

