The One That "Started It All"

The first poem I ever remember writing was about spring. I think I was 12. Since then, I have written, or at least started writing, countless poems. My writing has matured considerably. My thought process has deepened. My subject matter has become more complex. However, I often think about that poem, the one that “started it all,” and how it started something in me that to this day has not been extinguished. It taught me to love poetry. It was not long after that time that I started spending as much time as possible in the public library. My brother was in high school, and had been reading Shakespeare, as most schools require. I didn’t know who this Shakespeare was, but he sounded amazing, and so it began. I discovered that the location of the library where Will’s works were housed was on the second floor in the back, near a window. For some reason, there was always a stool there. It was like it was meant for me. I would sit there for hours and read words I didn’t understand; all the while knowing that it was something beautiful and timeless. The moments I spent sitting on a stool glad to simply be in the presence (and I realize how nerdy this makes me sound) of such great works fueled something inside my “romantic” heart, and just as so many other experiences along the way, helped to mold me into the person I have become today.

So, as I sit here (while I should be working) pondering how it was the inspiration of spring that began this wonderful literary journey I am on, I realized that a new spring season has begun, bringing with it the opportunity to discover inspiration again. On that note, I’ve decided to share some of the aspects of spring that inspire me, in the hopes of sparking some inspiration in all who might happen across this post . . .

. . . thunderstorms on Saturdays
. . . the sound of birds singing in the early morning
. . . the smell of freshly cut grass
. . . leisurely walks in late evening
. . . gentle wisps of wind blowing against my face
. . . sitting on a blanket with a good book in a beautiful park
. . . how the sun warms my car just enough to be toasty on those cooler spring days
. . . Baseball season begins!!!!
. . . how green and alive the world looks after the rain
. . . the hope of all things new

May this spring, more so than all those previous, inspire you all to a new discovery of the things in your life that “started it all.”

7 thoughts on “The One That "Started It All"

  1. Coley says:

    I’ve been trying to figure that out all . . . well, Spring!I think it must have something to do with the new life all around us that is representative of the New Life we find in Christ, don’t you?

  2. Coley says:

    I think, Amy dear, that I told you about him a few weeks back! Remember the email I sent? I told you I was bringing someone to camp that I wanted you to meet. You asked me for a name and I responded with this statement “If you read my blogs at all, you’ve seen his name a lot lately.” Stan is who I was talking about when I said that.

Leave a Reply

