A Few Things That I Love Loving…

I was reading my new friend Foolish Knight’s blog today, who I officially met while visiting Stan in Portland, and it inspired me to blog about the things for which I am thankful, the things I love.

I love that I still miss the Texas Panhandle, even though I haven’t lived there in over five years.

I love that I am still good friends with Amy and Jami, who constantly remind me of the happy memories of my life in Texas.

I love that I still feel a touch of homesickness when I see the Tulsa skyline, despite the fact that I know I’m in the place God would have me.

I love that I have fallen in love with Oregon, Stan’s home, and that I made so many new friends during my visit there.

I love that God gave me a passion for classic literature, instead of mathematics; Broadway musicals, instead of rap; and drama, instead of history.

I love that God chose to make my home America, and that He gave me a patriot’s heart for this great nation.

I love that I like to eat Mexican and spicy foods, and that a cup of coffee comforts me when I need comfort.

I love that I am a pastor’s daughter, and the ups and downs of that life that have shaped who I am today.

I love that even though I don’t love my job, I have my job, because I know that I can be used for the glory of God’s kingdom if I will let myself be used.

I love that God gave me Christian parents, who brought me up in the ways of the Lord, and because of that I chose to walk this road at a young age.

I love that my parents have been an excellent example of steadfastness and trust in the Lord God, and that it has taught me how to do the same.

I love that my gracious heavenly Father led me to Stan, and that He has blessed us with open doors and opportunities that have made this journey a delightful one.

I love that Stan was willing to move here, despite the fact that it has taken him away from the only life he’s ever known, and that he did it joyfully, knowing there would be times of homesickness, but choosing to make our relationship a priority.

Most importantly, I love that God chose to sacrifice His only Son for my sake, and that He would have made that sacrifice even if I had been the only one that needed it.

This list of “loves” is not near complete, but it is a start. I think that being thankful helps to lift our spirits and strengthen our faith. I hope you will all take time to remind yourself of the things you love to love.

6 thoughts on “A Few Things That I Love Loving…

  1. Jana Swartwood says:

    “I love that even though I don’t love my job, I have my job, because I know that I can be used for the glory of God’s kingdom if I will let myself be used.”Wow. That’s a reminder I needed today. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Mimi Lenox says:

    Hi Nicole…This is Mimi Lenox from Mimi Writes and Dating Profile. Thanks for leaving such a wonderful comment on the Gone With the Wind/Hawthorne post. Just wanted to say that this is an AWESOME BLOG. Your writing is insightful and enthusiastic. I sense real here. I hope you will come back to visit me anytime. I’m coming back to read some of your previous posts later. Have a great weekend!

  3. Coley says:

    Amy and Jami, I am so glad we’ve reconnected! Thank goodness for the internet.Jana, I know all about that reminder. You never know whose life you might be touching with your exceptional kindness and patience.Mimi, I’m so glad you stopped by! Thanks for commenting! I will definitely be stopping by your blogs again!

Leave a comment