A Diamond in the Rough

Despite my recent disappointment with Pride and Prejudice and Thoroughly Modern Millie, I did find a gem in Miss Potter. Of course, I’ve already explained my disappointment with Pride and Prejudice in an earlier post. My disappointment in Thoroughly Modern Millie is not huge, however. Having never seen either the musical or the movie, I had no idea what to expect. The only thing I knew about it at all was that I’d heard a pretty good song from the stage musical, so I wanted to see the movie. The song I wanted to hear was not in the movie. I began to research to find out why one of the best songs was not in the movie. I soon learned that the movie is actually based on a 1956 British Musical called Chrysanthemum. In turn, the stage musical was not produced until 2002, and it was based on the movie. Therefore, it had a few new songs, including The Speed Test. (I’m actually listening to Sutton Foster in Little Women, who was Millie in the Broadway production right now.) Anyway, The Speed Test is the song I wanted to hear the most. So, when I discovered that it wasn’t in the movie, I was a little disappointed. Still, I’d watch it again and I do want to see it on stage someday.

But I digress . . .

Stan and I also watched Miss Potter. If you haven’t seen this movie and you love Beatrix Potter, watch it soon! If you don’t love Beatrix Potter, watch it soon, you’ll love her by the time it is finished. If you have seen it and you still don’t love Beatrix Potter, what’s the matter with you? I cried through the whole movie. It really was that beautiful. Besides, everyone knows that Renee and Ewan are great on screen together!

4 thoughts on “A Diamond in the Rough

  1. John Mutford says:

    I saw Miss Potter on a plane and found it terribly dull. That said, it’s hard to pay proper attention in those cramped seats. Maybe I should give it another shot.

  2. Coley says:

    Jai, I think you would like it. I will admit, Renee’s British accent fit better with the Bridget Jones character that what I would expect to be an accurate portrayal of Beatrix Potter, but it was still a good movie.

  3. Coley says:

    John, I watched it with few distractions, so maybe that does make a difference. I did find that if I wasn’t giving it my complete attention, I missed some crucial parts and had to go back and watch them again. You might give it another try. I will say that the reason it moved me so much was not necessarily the performances, but just watching Peter Rabbit’s creation.

Leave a Reply

